We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Hillside Crescent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Hillside Crescent
Save
You added Two Hillside Crescent to your Saves list
Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stylish, spacious and in a good location to access the sights of Edinburgh. Our hosts were over the top helpful and friendly in providing directions and dining recommendations. Breakfast was was first class. Room was large, well appointed and immaculate. We would highly recommend Two Hillside to our family and friends.
J & D Banff, AB

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
81
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Two Hillside is quite a knock-out when you pass through the doors - at once wonderfully grand and beautifully homely. We had a top floor room at the back and such peace and quiet it is almost impossible to imagine in such a central, busy location. Utterly impeccable furnishings and decor, one of the most comfortable beds I've found in a B&B and a glorious bathroom. We very much enjoyed the fulsome breakfast in the communal dining room and, all in all, felt like we'd had quite the treat in having stayed here. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back was so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Two Hillside Crescent B&B after being touring Scotland for a week during August. After a short drive from Glasgow we found a parking space just in front of this big house. As soon as we entered the premises we were delighted with the contemporary decoration and attention to details and not to mention a long staircase that we enjoyed even though we were a little bit tired. We found the address easily after a few pointers given by Elaine, the nice young lady in charge of the B&B, it was tricky because of traffic street being diverted due to International & Fringe Festival activities. The room # 3 was huge and tasteful decorated, with all necessities (nice bathroom aka en-suite, Bathrobes, hairdryer, drink water etc, flat screen TV, etc.), a huge and very comfortable bed. After a good nice sleep, open the windows with a nice view to a park just in front of the house where people do jogging, went downstairs to have a quiet and full breakfast ( I tried the porridge - normally crushed oats, occasionally oatmeal as was my case). I agree with other reviewers in that the service could be quicker, but since they are cooked on premises and nicely presented they are worth the wait. We have a chat with Elaine who give us good tips for the Royal Edinburgh Tatoo Festival show that we attended that night at 9:00 pm, thanks for telling us to bring our blanked for what was a marvelous show but cold and windy at the end. In overall a Nice end to our vacation this Sumner 2012 in Scotland.

Room Tip: + Room # 3 is one of the nicest but all are superb rooms. + Do not forget to pay your car parking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Arrived at Two Hillside Crescent and was blown away by the grand entrance and character of the property. Elaine was so welcoming and hospitable on arrival. Our room on the first floor was absolutely huge, with an extremely large bathroom to match - all the furnishings were of a high standard, along with a sumptuous bed - very impressive. At first, I was a little concerned about the road noise, being at the front of the property, however the great shutter blinds and curtains did a great job and we slept soundly. My only negative comment would be the breakfast was a disappointment - the service was slow, (had to wait 40 mins for a cooked breakfast on the two mornings we were there) the breakfast could have been presented in a more interesting way, and the fruit and cereals was not kept replenished, so we ended up missing out on that, as there wasn't much left (and we allowed plenty of time before breakfast ended.) But despite the breakfast being a let down, we would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone - Elaine truly is a great host (we were tired, and she got our room ready earlier to accommodate us) and was so helpful with her knowledge of the city and recommendations of places to eat. And the whole place was immaculate - the cleaners do an amazing job, and service your room during your stay - a nice touch. We will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Two Hillside Crescent has lovely rooms, terrific breakfasts and kind and caring staff. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. Elaine, and her helper Vi could not have been more helpful. When our adapter plug did not work Elaine gave us one as a gift that we used for the entire trip. Vi encouraged me to try black pudding for breakfast and introduced me to a Scottish treat; she is planning to convince me to eat porridge next! We had to leave very early to catch a plane and Elaine arranged a cab, as well as packed a breakfast for us. If we did not appear at the door for the taxi she had asked them to call her so we would not oversleep and miss our plane. I don't know too many people who would get up before 5 AM to be sure their guests were awake. Two Hillside Crescent is a peaceful home in a bustling city; we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been here several times now and have stayed in most of the rooms. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Edinburgh. Location is great. Parking is right outside and we have never had a problem finding a parking space. The bedrooms are all lovely. Beds are comfortable, bedding is good quality, rooms are tastefully and simply decorated. The rooms at the back are so peaceful. Elaine runs this place with such an attention to detail which so many other places struggle to manage. It is understandably busy. We are already looking forward to our next visit. HIghly recommend

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely. We prefer rooms at the back as they are so peaceful and quiet but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is our second visit, and the standard is as high as ever. Comfortable, beautifully decorated & maintained, but also very friendly and welcoming. Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Hillside Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hillside Crescent

Address: Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Hillside Crescent is a beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse in the centre of Edinburgh offering luxury accommodation within a short walking distance of Princes Street and many city attractions. Its relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, convenient location and attention to detail make it ideal whether you’re stay is for business or leisure.We believe the two most important things about a Bed & Breakfast are indeed the Bed and the Breakfast. That is why all our beds are equipped with luxury linen, goose down duvets and Vi Spring mattresses to simply guarantee a great nights sleep (doubles are at least king sized and over 6’6” in length). Our delicious breakfast includes fresh seasonal fruit, homemade preserves and a choice of cooked breakfast all using responsibly sourced local, organic and free range produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Hillside Crescent Hotel Edinburgh
2 Hillside Crescent
Two Hillside Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Hillside Crescent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.