We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Value and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hedges Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Hedges Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hedges Guest House
19 Hillside Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 5EB, Scotland (Leith)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Value and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I booked this Guesthouse along with my partner for a weekend break in Edinburgh.

Having looked at highend hotels in Edinburgh and the prices that came attached to a stay with one of these I was more than happy with what I experienced with the Hedges Guesthouse for the price I payed.

The Hedges was a far more personal and more homely place than a hotel could offer. As soon as you walk in there is a warmly feel about the place and we were immediately greeted by the new owner. She was very accommodating and showed us to our room. The room itself was well furnished with clean linen and a great comfortable bed.

My only criticism would be the breakfest which took a longer time than expected to be served (1st morning). However I put this down to the new owners probably getting to grips with the place. Other than this it was a perfect stay, close to town and the theatre. Only a 5 minute walk and free parking on the weekend. (Free from 5pm onwards Monday to Friday with Saturday and Sunday being free all day). The parking is directly in front of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
171
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

very friendly accommodation, lovely landlady, nice big rooms, beautiful sleep, awesome water pressure, delicious breakfast.. really pleasant stay, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed two nights at The Hedges, we had a very warm welcome from Heather.
Excellent breakfast with a good choice. The location is great for the Playhouse and the bus route into the centre of town. We walked to the Royal mile which took about 20 mins. We would recommend The Hedges and would certainly return on our next visit to Edinburgh. There is parking on the street outside the guest house limited to four hours week days but it is free at the week end.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

It has comfortable bed and cozy room, and It has the best breakfast among 6 hotels/ guest hotels during my 16 days stay in England and Scotland. Good location, close to city centre but avoiding noisy main road.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at The Hedges A pristine bathroom and a confortable bed really make the difference. Not only though, breakfast was excellent with a good selection of different dishes we could choose. However, it was Heather's warmth what we appreciated the most. Thanks for your kindness and help. We'll come back for sure

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Lovely B&B, with everything you could ask for. It was beautifully decorated, had excellent features (including own flat screen TV and the fluffiest pillows in the world) and the owners were absolutely wonderful. Lovely warm welcoming rooms, perfect for a cold January visit! Delicious breakfast was included with the very fair price. Would definitely reccommend to anyone who likes to stay in a beautiful homely B&B.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Close at hand to the royal mile, train station and many other attractions. Warm, friendly service that was very welcoming and went out of there way to help with tips on things to do and see. Very clean and nicely appointed rooms. Great breakfasts and the best PORRIDGE ever to warm away the winter chill and set you up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hedges Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Guest House

Address: 19 Hillside Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 5EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedges is perfectly located in a Tree lined Crescent opposite Historic Calton Hill, and Royal Park Gardens. Five minutes walk out of the crescent are numerous bars and restaurant, you will be spoiled for choice. Edinburgh Playhouse theatre is practically on our doorstep. Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace all within walking distance. Hedges is a delightful small and friendly 4 star Scottish Tourist Board rated Bed and breakfast. Each of the three rooms are en-suite, with complimentary tea/coffee biscuits Excellent breakfast menu to suite all tastes.. Free WifiHeather & Ian are natives of Edinburgh and share their knowledge of Edinburgh & the Lothians with their guests.Come & try our popular whisky porridge "A True Scottish Welcome" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Hedges Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Guesthouse Hotel Edinburgh
The Hedges Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hedges Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.