We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hedges Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hedges Guest House to your Saves list
The Hedges Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Hillside Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 5EB, Scotland (Leith)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Hampton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A lovely place to stay. It feels like being a guest in someone's home. Heather and Colin were very accessible as necessary, but completely inobtrusive. Great choice. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
206
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I booked this hotel on behalf of my retired parents who were visiting Scotland for the first time (from the United States) to attend my wedding. They had a fantastic time and added that Heather couldn't have been more hospitable. The inn impeccably kept and the breakfast delicious. What's more, Heather sent a follow up email to me after their stay to congratulate me on my marriage. I can't wait to check it out for myself the next time we're in Scotland!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I travelled to Edinburgh solo in April 2011 and the Hedges was the absolute perfect place to stay. Heather is one of the sweetest, nicest ladies, was very welcoming and it truly felt like having a Scottish mum looking after me. It is very conveniently located and within walking distance of Waverley Station. The place is very charming, the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aix en provence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying at The Hedges, very well located. Heather is incredibly welcoming, sweet, helpful and runs with her husband a beautiful B&B. It is of a very good quality and at the same time, like being at a friend's home! The bed was very comfortable, the room pristine. The choices for breakfast are wonderful and Heather even accommodated my husband gluten intolerance and made him a special breakfast! This stay made our visit of Edinburgh a pure pleasure!
We cannot wait to go back to this beautiful city and stay at The Edges again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Hedges is a wonderful place---comfortable, charming decor, and stellar breakfasts. The fruit plate is something special. This was the last two days of a three week trip, and we are remembering with pleasure the warm send-off that Heather and Ian gave us, as they waved goodbye to us from their doorway. We can't think of a thing we'd change.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in The Hedges 3 nights. The guest house is perfectly situated, you can walk everywhere. Heather was so friendly and helpful. She helped us in every question we had. The Hedges has three rooms so it's very peaceful. I also have to give a credit for cleanness of the room and for the breakfast which was excellent. We warmly recommend The Hedges!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at The Hedges for two lovely warm and comfy nights recently and can recommend Heather's hospitality and excellent facilities without reservation. (well, actually you had better make a 'reservation' because she is definitely popular!)

The room was large and warm with the best bed we slept in on our trip in France and the UK -and the ensuite well appointed and up to the minute.

Breakfast was delicious -lots of choice and beautifully and freshly prepared -we were delighted with it.

Within easy walk of the city and situated in a safe pleasant part of Edinburgh. Oh yes we'll be back!

Can't help but give this place a huge round of applause.

Room Tip: They are all great. No trouble with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hedges Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Guest House

Address: 19 Hillside Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 5EB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hedges Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedges is perfectly located in a Tree lined Crescent opposite Historic Calton Hill, and Royal Park Gardens. Five minutes walk out of the crescent are numerous bars and restaurant, you will be spoiled for choice. Edinburgh Playhouse theatre is practically on our doorstep. Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace all within walking distance. Hedges is a delightful small and friendly 4 star Scottish Tourist Board rated Bed and breakfast. Each of the three rooms are en-suite, with complimentary tea/coffee biscuits Excellent breakfast menu to suite all tastes.. Free WifiHeather & Ian are natives of Edinburgh and share their knowledge of Edinburgh & the Lothians with their guests.Come & try our popular whisky porridge "A True Scottish Welcome" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hedges Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Guesthouse Hotel Edinburgh
The Hedges Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hedges Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.