We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lost for words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo
32 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QB , Scotland (Princes Street and Gardens)
+44 131 225 1188
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo like an insider
Top Rated
$153*
and up
Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Military musical spectacular filled with talented performers, pipes, drums, and visual lights and fireworks.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“lost for words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Amazing and truly wonderful spectacle. If the weather stays dry you can't not possibly enjoy this extravaganza even if it is rainy be prepared and you will eenjoy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,780
    381
    111
    40
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is just military propaganda at its best. Not to mention that the seats are very uncomfortable and when you get caught int he rain it's completely miserable. Skip this money-making scam and watch it on TV.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After seeing this on tv for years, I knew we couldn't come to Edinburgh without going to see it for real. It is a bit of a gamble with the weather, as its outside and I booked a month in advance and was lucky to get reasonable seats. Rain was forecast, but it didn't arrive until the last 20 minutes of the show so it didn't spoil it too much. It certainly is a military operation getting all the hundreds of performers in and out of the arena. We sat nearer the castle end and thought it was very atmospheric as the light faded and the castle was lit up with pictures projected onto it. The lone piper on the battlements was very nostalgic for us. When it had finished, it took ages to get out because of the hundreds in the audience, but everyone was so well behaved, walking as one massive crowd down the cobbled street outside.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Word can't do justice re this spectacular show! The organisers have this down to a fine art, from queuing to performances that blow you away...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A night you'll never forget and one we make a habit of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As a resident in Edinburgh it is simply one of my favourite events of the year. My partner and I go every year and have the most wonderful time. It's exciting, inspiring, impressive, moving and makes me proud to be Scottish. It is also a great reminder of all the great and brave work our soldiers do for us. Do wrap up and wear sensible shoes (found that one out to my cost). Off to book tickets for this years show.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.