We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour by Ben!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SANDEMANs NEW Edinburgh Tours

SANDEMANs NEW Edinburgh Tours
Meeting point is outside Starbucks | 124 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QS, Scotland
+44 7740 265816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 270 Activities in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours leave at 11am and 2pm everyday from the Royal Mile near the Tron Kirk. For information about additional summer times and other tours please visit our website using the link above.Connecting great guides with smart travelersWe believe in supporting our local communities and are committed to giving a voice to self-employed guides who have chosen Edinburgh as their home. By ensuring that every native English speaking guide represents our unique style of mixing history and story-telling while maintaining their own personality and flair, we've become one of the most popular tour companies in the world. Helping superb independent guides connect with thousands of travelers a day, we provide these local freelancers the possibility to inform and entertain you, and they employ us to spread the news about this great concept.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour by Ben!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went on a tour of Edinburgh with Ben and he was great. He kept everyone interested for the entire three hours which some tour guides simply cannot do. He was very knowledgeable and answered any questions that were asked. Doing a walking tour is a great way to discover a city and we would definitely recommend this tour!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,593
    326
    48
    18
    37
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Portugese James is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The weather was dreary. We met at the appointed time (with about a hundred others). Oh no! Well, of course, we were divided into groups. Damb, I'm in the largest group. James introduced himself and then took us on a fascinating trip around the old city that was so good. He made it come to life. Satisfied? Doesn't come close. It was wonderful. Thank you so very much.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour with James”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful tour with James today! He really brings the city to life with unique and entertaining stories! He knows how to make the tour fun and entertaining....if you're looking for a list of dates this would not be for you. But if you're looking for a knowledgeable guide to bring the city to life...Absolutely go!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great tour of Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The free tour of Edinburgh was excellent! Ben, our guide, was informative, funny and answered any questions we had during the tour. This is a great way to get to know the city and later on explore the city on your own. The tour lasts three hours in total, but there is a break in the middle of it during which you can get some coffee or tea and relax for 15 minutes. Definitely recommend this to everyone who wants to explore the city!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stories, great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour today through the streets of Edinburgh (the old town). Our guide, Kiel (a bearded Aussie escaped to Scotland) was full of information and stories that kept us captivated the whole time. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to do a tour in Edinburgh.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Edinburgh Tours also viewed

 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Edinburgh Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SANDEMANs NEW Edinburgh Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.