We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sygn

Sygn
15 Charlotte Lane, Edinburgh EH2 4QZ, Scotland (West End)
+44 131 225 6060
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sygn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #653 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Pizza, Hamburgers, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Www.Sygn.Co.Uk We're all about the cocktails....
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to sygn for the first time with an itison voucher for a pizza and cocktail. Really nice modern setting, friendly efficient service and very tasty pizzas. We will definitely return and would be happy to pay full price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    24
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slack Service for vouchers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Sygn and go with and without vouchers but when I see a bargain I buy it. This time we had the pizza and cocktail deal. Service was extremely slow even though it was early bank holiday tea time. Everyone else seemed to get served before us - If you con't like serving voucher tables then don't do them. We spent £16 on top of the voucher so was worth our visit. The pizzas were lovely and rustic but thick in cheese which ruined it for me really. We were never asked if our food was ok and plates were slow in being taken away. I would go back but they need to buck up their service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Burger Masters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went here with a colleague. Although they were very busy the owner soon arranged seats for us. We shared duck spring rolls- delicious!- and both had the steak and cheese burgers.
My companion braved the "double" version but regretted it as it was massive and just about beat him!
Service, food quality and whole ambiance is exceptional. Only one bad point- why is it not near me?!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Casual Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Sygn is a great neighborhood restaurant with a modern feel and great music. We had a staff dinner for 22 in the private dining room. The staff was wonderful working with our large group. We had many of the starters and a wide variety of mains. Everyone was pleased with the beer selection as well as the bar service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We used a voucher yesterday that we got as a Christmas gift and what a disappointment. It was for a burger and a cocktail each. From when we arrived at 5.30 and left at 6.30, we were greeted with an unpleasant welcome, continued to feel unwelcome in the place - was terrible service. A smile now and again doesn't do any harm.

Instead of having a wide selection of cocktails to choose from - the waitress gave us a choice of 3 so we were slightly disappointed by this. There was no set menu detailing what the 3 were which we found unhelpful so she told us. Because it was quite loud we could hardly hear what she was saying so had to ask her to repeat herself. She looked as if she'd rather be anywhere else. Maybe next time they should make a little list of the voucher choices so we don't have to ask and be made to feel stupid. Because she was so disinterested in us, I ended up going up to the bar myself for another couple of drinks later.

We must say though, that the burgers were lovely!

If you don't like serving people with vouchers, don't sell vouchers. We enjoy trying out new places and have to say, we won't be back - We prefer to go where we get good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sygn also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Sygn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sygn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.