We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Festival theatre, reasonable food at reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TiAmo Restauarant

TiAmo Restauarant
16 Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DH, Scotland (South Side)
+44 131 5565678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #830 of 1,824 restaurants in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: South Side
Beauly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient for Festival theatre, reasonable food at reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked this restaurant as we were going to the Festival Theatre afterwards. It's straight across the road so couldn't get much closer.

Big basement floor for dining in, no view except into the kitchen, though there are a few tables at street level. Very noisy & the noise was echoing.

The restaurant was busy as there was a show at the theatre but service was slow, and they got our order wrong. It was rectified without fuss though. The pizzas had a huge crispy crust on them which wasn't easy to eat, and there wasn't a lot if topping. The pasta was better and very simply done.

We just had a main course each & shared a bottle of wine. Theprice was reasonable for the quality received.

In short, it's convenient for the theatre, foods ok and if you don't expect too much then you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    27
    8
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fab meal in fab location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Dined here with a friend on Friday evening before going to the Festival Theatre opposite. We hadn't booked, but got a table nonetheless as it was early.
Menu had a good choice at very reasonable prices. We were very impressed with the variety on offer. We ordered a sharer of bruscetta & were surprised at what arrived. It was absolutely delicious. There were quite a few tables having this starter. We both ordered a pasta dish & couldn't finish it, delicious as it was. Both dishes had the correct amount of spice without being overpowering.
Service was excellant & attentative without being in your face which annoys me.
I would definately go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“No surprises here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Regular ersatz Italian food, nothing memorable, but no grump afterwards. Cheap, considering Edinburgh's options. The service was good, although there were few occupied tables during our visit. A reasonable option if are sightseeing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I took my stepdaughter, her boyfriend and various members of the family here for a graduation lunch. Even though we were the only ones in the restaurant by mid-afternoon, there was no pressure on us to finish, and in fact the service was immaculate: friendly, non-intrusive and efficient. TiAmo has quite a traditional Italian feel and it is none the worse for that. All the food tasted freshly made, with all of us having different dishes and all being very pleased. We got a real surprise when the bill arrived, not realising that we were getting every main course for only £7 each as a lunchtime special ... with no compromise on the size of helping. TiAmo has become a firm favourite for the family when visiting this area of town, particularly because it is right opposite the Edinburgh Festival Theatre. It caters for all generations with a wide range of tasty dishes. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The worst meal I have ever had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband's veal was so rubbery he couldn't cut it and the outside was burnt to a crisp. This was hidden under a huge wodge of bland spagetti. An obvious attempt to hide the fact that the meal was burnt. Totally inedible and was sent back. My meal was just a plate of prawns in a little sauce which was supposed to come with 'a selection of vegetables'. This was half a tiny bowl of the most soggy, tasteless veg I have ever had. And not at a cheap price either.

The food was all badly presented and badly cooked.

The service was equally bad. The waitress didn't smile once and didn't ask us to try the wine. She just poured it and walked away. She also didnt ask if the food was ok. After finally getting the manager's attention and pointing out the lumps of burnt meat (which he conceeded) he then proceeded to ignore us for the remainder of the transactions and didnt bother to get my coat or say goodbye. I never complain at restaurants or ever before about them, but feel on this occasion it has to be done.

Don't bother.Terrible!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TiAmo Restauarant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to TiAmo Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TiAmo Restauarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.