We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place to your Saves list
Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Honeymoon break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My new wife and myself decided to book up last minute for a couple of nights in Edinburgh to catch up with friends and see a couple of shows and went for the Princess Street Suites due to its excellent city centre location and the great price we got.

We bagged a two bedroom apartment and it looked great, the couch was huge and very comfortable, great views and pretty much everything we needed (apart from salt and pepper strangely.)

Okay the beds were a little small for a large man and his pregnant wife and it could do with a lick of paint but I suspect that might have had something to do with previous guests allowing their children to rub their hands all over the wall, if you were in suite 30 then shame on you!

The roof terrace had some of the best views I've ever seen and the room had some nice views over the adjacent graveyard.

The one let down was the noise from the work being carried out at the nearby Waverly station, this all seemed to kick off just after the last train left and went on until 2am, a total pain but the staff, whom were all excellent, were very apologetic but what could they possibly do.

Very handy for town, shops and bars etc all within 5 mins walk and nice bright rooms, oh and the bath was heaven.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    137
    55
    10
    7
See reviews for
148
126
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Can't fault the location and convenience. My son used the gym which was well equipped. The staff were efficient and supplied us with extra bathrobes on request. The paintwork and carpets in our two bedroom apartment was a bit shabby and we were disappointed that there were only 4 place settings for cutlery and crockery, despite the provision of a full size dishwasher. Overall this appeared a bit mean given the price

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have chosen the hotel due to its great location in the centre of Edinburgh and of the great views promised on the website. When booking, I mentioned specifically that I would like an appartment with a good view.
At the arrival (late evening), we were given an apartment with windows facing another building. An indifferent receptionist informed us that there is no other choice, as the hotel is fully booked. (BTW, when checking out, another receptionist pointed out that there are a lot of apartments with worse views than ours, so we should actually be thankful)
Some other things:
- At the arrival, 2 out of 3 TV sets did not work (but were eventually fixed the next day), the iPod docking station was also not functional (and did not get fixed, despite our claims).
- Beds are too narrow, only approx 1,5m wide - not enough for a hotel who considers itself 5-star, and not comfortable for 2 persons sleeping in them.
- The carpets have seen better days, for sure.
- We had to specifically ask in order to get our supply of soap and shower gel renewed, again strange for a 5-star hotel.
- the hotel has a great terrace on the roof but strangely it's getting closed each evening at 22.00
The rest was OK, but we felt that the price we paid for our stay was way too high.

Room Tip: best views are at floors 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This apartment hotel was a really nice break from staying in hotels for most of our trip. The room itself was very spacious, well decorated, and really nice! You can walk to many of the sites in Edinburgh although it takes a few minutes. The only drawback was the construction going on nearby. The workers start early (6AM!) and it is loud! Overall I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in HK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place was in a great location and was very spacious for a city apartment and on the third floor and above you do have terrific views. However generally the suites are not worth a four and half star rating. One sofa was broken and the staff promised to change it but that didn't eventuate and the wifi was intermittent at best, was very, very slow and only worked in the corridor when it did work. The cleaning staff were abrupt and only did a cursory clean and as a result the rooms were dusty around the edges and the soft furnishings were stained and very tired. They do have limited complimentary tea, coffee, UHT milk, hot chocolate, shampoo and hand soap.However we expected to have body soap, conditioner and a hair dryer and had packed accordingly so we ended up a bit frustrated.

At night there is a bit of noise but as we live in Hong Kong and we are used to noise it didn't really bother any of us.

When we asked for them to change the sofa and fix the wifi they said they would and were very polite but nothing came of it. We asked for a discount at the end of our three night stay as they had oversold the apartment but they refused to offer any discount which was hugely disappointing as we felt we really had been mislead.

If they represented the suites as a three and half star rating, brilliantly located in terms of walking distance to the old town, with lovely views, spacious, no internet and charged accordingly I think our expectations would have been matched and we would have been totally satisfied and happy.

Room Tip: stay above the third floor to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Situated at Waterloo place right at the end of Princes Street, near St James centre.
Well appointed, comfortable, roomy and very clean. Well furnished.
Self catering although well situated for restaurants and takeaways.No complaints whatsover. Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending the Highland show. Will definitely be back.
Only small problem was wi fi was next to useless. The signal is not strong enough

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Princes Street Suites.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and found the location of the Suites to be perfect.
Further to the challenges we experience with our Wifi - we have now had the problem rectified and all is working.
We very much hope you will return during next years Highland show.
Once again thank you for your review,
Have a good day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

What a find! Hotels, including the like of Jury's, were asking £149 per night for the dates we wanted to stay in Edinburgh. Higher graded hotels were asking silly prices and we just didn't want to pay silly prices!!!

Looking on TripAdvisor I found the Princes Street Studios. We were arriving by train and Waverley Station is just a 5 minute walk from the studios in a quiet street at the end of Princes Street. Perfect.

I booked the suite about 4 days before our arrival and paid, on average, about £80 per night. Check in was quick and efficient and when we got to our suite we had 2 bedrooms, a very large lounge/dining area/kitchen and bathroom with bath and shower over.

The lounge area had 2 large sofas, coffee table and big telly and the table in the room had 4 chairs. The kitchen area had dishwasher, fridge, freezer and all the equipment needed for self catering. The bathroom had bath with shower over. There was a cupboard in the hall way with a washer/dryer.

The bedrooms were modern and the beds, if not a little small, were comfortable. I can't understand why they only put double beds in the rooms as king size would have easily fitted in. Hey ho!! There was ample wardrobe/cupboard space and a hairdryer was provided in the room.

We had a small hamper left for us with milk, cereals, orange juice, chocolate (??) etc in. Enough for a 2 night stay.

In future, when we can only find expensive rooms for our travels, we will certainly have a look for studios/apartments. Seems daft not to!!

Thanks to all the staff, we had a great stay.

Oh, and you get free wifi during your stay as well!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review of Princes Street Suites. We were delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience and we hope that you had a fun and enjoyable time while in Edinburgh.
We are so very lucky to be located where we are in Edinburgh, with ease of access to all restaurants, shops and visitor attractions, our guests very much enjoy staying with us.
We very much hope you will return soon to Scotland and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Princes Street Suites,
Once again thank you for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place

Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space, luxury and service make 16 Waterloo Place a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you’ll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse overlooking Edinburgh Castle to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom luxury apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.