We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmanay 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Guest House

Emerald Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Guest House to your Saves list
Emerald Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8QQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hogmanay 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at the Emerald with my fiancé and another couple for 2 nights over New Year, and had a great time. Very welcoming, lovely rooms. About 15mins bus ride onto the royal mile but the bus stop is right outside the b&b with regular buses. Flexible checking out time (we were all a little hungover and should have checked out at 10, but was assured there was no rush by Annie the owner of the b&b!)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dominica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this Guest House. I would rate it very high. It was cozy warm Decor excellent

Landlady and Landlord were wonderful. Best week ever .You want a good place to stay in Edinburgh this is it..
Outside the door bus takes you into city center and again stops outside.
The Toby carvery is close by and a local fish and chip shop there is a great choice of places to eat.
There is a local Morrison supermarket and a Lido next door .
Shops in the city center are excellent you have a John Lewis and House of Frazer along with all the other stores you find in a city
RBS bank is close just a block up.
I went on a tour of the ship Britannia it was a wonderful trip..


.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The best B&B we have stayed in during our touring around Great Britain. Ann was extremely accommodating. Beautifully updated rooms & bathrooms. Fantastic breakfasts. Bus service at the doorstep. What else could you ask for. Richard & Julie. Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a great place for the end of our trip! We visited Scotland after a couple of weeks at the Olympics and were very happy with our choice of accomodation. Ann was wonderfully helpful and welcoming. The room was immaculate with ensuite bathroom, cushy linens, movies, books, tea and cookies and other wonderful homey touches. The house itself was surrounded by flowers with gardens in front and back. We wanted to spend time at the music festival and we were able to hop a bus right across the street directly into the city center. Breakfast was incredible - besides all the delicious special order options, Ann served fruit, salad, cold meats and cheese, fresh juice - and the choices changed daily! We definitely felt cared for. As one of the guests was preparing to leave, Ann stepped into the street and stopped traffic so they could pull out. What service! We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I drive around 15,000 miles per year in my job and stay in all sorts of hotels but have to say the friendly welcome I receive every time I stay at the Emerald Guest House is first-class. The rooms are individually and beautifully designed and the breakfasts first-class. And, best of all as a Scot who is now domiciled in England, very reasonably priced (even during the Edinburgh Festival).
Thank you Ann for being such a wonderful host.

Room Tip: I have stayed on 4 occasions in different rooms and they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were a family of 6 adults travelling through Scotland. Edinburgh was our last stop. We chose this B and B because it was close to the ring road and so easy to get in and out of the city. Indeed, the bus stop was directly across the street and it was a quick 20 minute ride into the city centre. But that same bus stop made the room quite noisy since the house is so close to the street. The room itself could have used a good cleaning, especially in the bathroom area. The wood floor in the room was sticky. Some ordinary expectations (Kleenex in the room, a toilet roll holder in the bathroom) were missing. It seemed like the B and B was being run on a shoestring (towels and bathmat were frayed and needed replacing). But the breakfast was very good and plentiful. Overall, this hotel was the most expensive of the trip but delivered the least.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back of the house to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overall cleanliness and comfort was lacking. Location not ideal in terms of both the quality of neighbourhood and distance to downtown. Since parking is available, I would recommend to take the city bus. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Address: 3 Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8QQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.