We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuart and mena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Guest House

Emerald Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Guest House
3 Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8QQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
“stuart and mena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

agreat place to stay,we found this place quite by chance as we were looking for some where with secure parking for our harley motorcycle, this place had it. the room was lovely,the beds were very confortable, breakfast choises were execellent and the fry was to die for.Ann made us feel so welcome and we felt at home right away.I would recomend this B&B with out hesitation.

Room Tip: book early,allrooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked the double room through Scotish Accomodation's web site where the rooms look just fine. The lady (very unpleasant) gave us, I don't know how to describe, maybe once it was a storage room for food or clothes...It had a tiny little window, so it felt like there is no air, it was sooo smal we couldn't move also the bed was to smal for two people to sleep on. There was a shared bathroom an it costed 85 gbp per night!!! You could hear all the people in the house talking, walking, also using their wc during the night....
We've been to at least 8 B&B's all over Scotland and they were all very beautifull and the ovners very kind, but this one you should better avoid!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniepatEddinburgh, Owner at Emerald Guest House, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
In response to the above review ,this booking had already been cancelled by the above clients and then turned up. not the rm ., they had booked but a small standard rm ,which i give them ,as they already cancelled i think i did ok for them ,and said they could move on ,if not happy ,At no time was i unpleasent ,we do not sell store rms ,Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardenstown, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

A wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh. I stayed here last year and loved it so much that I had to go back. Ann makes you feel so welcome. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. The house is beautiful with lovely comfortable beds, delicious food and such a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This B&B was close to the street and somewhat noisy. However, the staff, particularly Ann, were cordial and accommodating. The room was average with somewhat hard beds. Restaurants were some distance from the B&B. You could take public transportation into the heart of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Address: 3 Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8QQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Also Known As:
Emerald Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Emerald Guest House to your Saves list