We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic the best b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 94DR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 94DR to your Saves list
94DR
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   94 Dalkeith Rd, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #13 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic the best b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband, myself, son and his girlfriend stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast from friday to sunday. my son and his girlfriend had stayed there before and they loved it so much they wanted to go back there again so they recommended it to us. As soon as they opened the door we felt very welcome, I felt as if I'd known them forever. This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. The rooms were excellent, very clean, modern and spacious. We came down to breakfast where we ate wonderful food in a gorgeous conservatory. The breakfast was the best we have ever had in any place that we have stayed . John and Paul were very entertaining and they were great hosts,I wish we could have stayed there longer. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast,in my experience it is better than any 5 star hotel.We hope to go back there soon.Thank you John and Paul at 94DR. xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
240
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked fairly late so stayed in the Wee room. It may have been the smallest room but very well designed to give a feeling of space and good views towards Arthurs Seat. We will book again and try for a larger room. The only possible drawback in location to city centre but worth the short bus ride into the city to stay here. The hosts are fabulous, very friendly and extremely helpful and we felt immediately at home. I work for top end holiday tour operator and can agree with most comments that the breakfast is 5 star. We Love Edinburgh and from now on would not consider staying anywhere else unless we couldn't get in the wonderful B and B. Well done John and Paul!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I spent our last 3 nights of our 10 night trip to Scotland at 94DR and we really enjoyed it. John and Paul were the best hosts we had on our trip and we had some good hosts in every B&B! John and Paul do all the little things to make sure every guest is enjoying their stay. I think they were meant to own a B&B as it seems to fit them. They enjoy people and they really seem to enjoy making other people happy.
While we had breakfast every morning at every B&B, again all good, John and Paul's breakfasts were the best! First quality ingredients and something special every day. Breakfasts you can't get anywhere else. And the breakfast room is a great room to start your day in.
We did miss the last breakfast due to an early flight. When Paul found out he said he'd pack us breakfast for the morning and have it waiting in the fridge when we left. That was incredibly nice of him to do and we surely enjoyed it when we got to the airport. Now that's customer service!
We also enjoyed the honesty bar. It's a great room to sit and relax and have a drink. What a great idea.
Thanks to Paul and John for a great stay and their wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were lucky that there was a room available as we booked very last minute. We have stayed in Edinburgh a few times before and stayed in hotels or apartments. Very good value for money. The room was very spacious, the bed was huge and the bathroom was very clean. The standard room was on par with a five star hotel. The best part of the stay was the breakfast. It was the best breakfast I've ever had. I was so glad I didn't have a hangover otherwise I may not have eaten it all. I had eggs benedict/smoked salmon - seriously good! Don't be put off by the distance into town. We walked in town and it doesn't take long at all and taxi back on a night isn't expensive. Also it means that you don't get loud traffic. Paul and John are very welcoming and funny. There are nice touches such as postcards with DR in the title when you get your bill. I would stay there again, definitely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Thank you John & Paul and off course Molli. We had a wonderful stay, having travelled for a month in Scotland staying mostly b & bs this was by far the best! Great hosts, great room, comfy bed and the breakfast was fantastic both mornings. Great location, we walked in to the centre each day and the bus is at the door if you want. Recommended excellent restaurant around the corner. Loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

this is my second time at 94DR and I really can't recommend it enough!

John & Paul are the perfect hosts... making you feel that nothing is too much trouble!

We had the Bowmore room while our friends were in the Tamdu room (which could be twinned). The Bowmore room is directly opposite the room we stayed in the last time (Caol Ila Room) on the first floor - and was bigger than Caol Ila - but smaller than the Tamdu which is on the 2nd floor.

the beds are SUPER comfortable and there is nothing missing in the rooms that you might need.... Plus the bathrooms are super clean with lovely bath/shower products.

Not only are the breakfasts the BEST - offered granola/yoghurt and home-made fruit compote or porridge with home-made fruit compote to start... followed by the *dish of the day*... but you can opt for traditional if that is what your heart desires!

and to top things off - when you get back to your room after a day of exploring and sightseeing - there will be a treat waiting on the coffee/tea tray! (day 1 = teacakes and day 2 = shortbread)

In terms of location - it is a 20-30minute walk into town (depends on how fast you walk) or you can jump onto a bus (the stop is directly outside the B&B)... and for all intensive purposes, the location is a-ok!

the only negative is that the room we had faced the street and there was some residual street noise going by... but by night #2 - we were absolutely ok! (if you are a light sleeper - then rather opt for the back rooms that look over their quait little courtyard garden)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in the Bowmore room. Nice decor and huge bed. Certainly not the norm for a B&B! The hosts were very helpful gave us great recommendations. The breakfast were amazing and we would have gone there just for the breakfast. The location is slightly out of town but we were fine and enjoyed the morning walk. Nice building. Noise was not an issue. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 94DR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 94DR

Address: 94 Dalkeith Rd, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 94DR 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique guesthouse, offering hip stylish B&B accommodation in Edinburgh city centre, Scotland. This graceful Victorian townhouse has been transformed to a space brimming with style and sophistication. Sumptuous rooms with comfy beds, stylish en-suite bathrooms with all the facilities you'd expect in a luxury hotel. Chef prepared breakfast, free wifi, private parking, book and film libraries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B and Despegar.com so you can book your 94DR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
94dr Hotel Edinburgh
94DR Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 94DR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.