We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Penthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital View Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capital View Apartments
13 North Bank Street, Edinburgh EH1 2LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab Penthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were a group of six girls away for a chilled out Girlie weekend. The Penthouse apartment was in the perfect location, just 5 mins from the train station and just off the Royal Mile at one side and looked out towards Princess Street on the other (again just a 5 min walk).

Jill, who dealt with the booking, was really helpful and responsive. Even better she let us In early and check out late, which made it all very easy, meant no dragging around cases.

The apartment was lovely, we were all really pleased with it. Great facilities and the location was fab. It was great that all the little bits and pieces were there, like cling film, foil, towels, coffee & tea, washing up stuff etc it made a big difference.

We really had a great weekend, all the girls loved it. All in all it was a great way for us to catch up and chill out. We would certainly consider this apartment again if we come for another weekend in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
38
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of this apartment is really good! close to the station, old and new town.

Jill, who's in charged responds quickly and is really helpful

The apartment itself is clean with everything you need! ( will be even better if there's some bowls - deeper ones). Overall is very good, slight downfall is the other apartments next to the ones we have, the person/ people staying in there seems to be very heavy smokers when we went, so the corridor outside our apartment smelt like heavy smoke! but you can't smell it in the apartment at all!

Overall, really good (price, location, facilities), will definitely book again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A group of six work colleagues stayed in the penthouse apartment on the best weekend of the year weather wise this year. We were very impressed by the cleanliness and decor of the apartment and the view was to die for. Extremely good location for all city centre attractions. The booking process was easy and Jill was very helpful answering questions almost immediately when emailed. This weekend was to celebrate a 50th birthday but I am sure that we will return to this apartment in the future and have already recommended it to friends who are looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh. A real gem of a find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

No doubt a fantastic location in Edinburgh , After getting over the pushing of our cases up the MOUND from Waverley Street Station, too short a distance to take a taxi After struggling with the door that opened OUT from the building onto North Bank Street, then getting cases up a flight of stairs to the lift . . . .However . . . . Our double bed did NOT come apart in the night and suited us perfectly . The WIFI signal was not very good , but worked on and off . For the TV we had no signal , but that did not bother us ; But enough gripes all the rest was just right , and sooooo handy for everything of interest in Edinburgh . . . would HIGHLY recommend .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in one of the 8th floor apartments. Although the apartment was very clean & comfortable, the bed was UNcomfortable. It was 2 singles held together by latches on both ends. The sides of the beds come together in the middle leaving a bar to lay on. Kinda like our fold out sofas except the bar ran vertically instead of horizontally.
The view was fantastic!! I felt on top of the world or at least on top of the MOUND!! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with some friends and we had a fantastic time. The location was perfect and the apartment spacious and comfortable. There were 8 of us staying and there was more than enough room. The views are brilliant and it was a great base to explore the city. It was easy to book and Jill was very good at getting in touch to make sure everything was as we wanted it. I will definitely stay again, we have already decides on the weekend we want to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My family and I stayed in the penthouse apartment in May. While we were there the weather in Edinburgh was really chilly - but the apartment was always pleasantly warm. It has many things going for it... It is spacious, modern, has a bathroom for each of the three bedrooms and has fantastic views but the best thing is its location. It is right on the Royal Mile a few minutes walk to the Castle, Edinburgh National Gallery and many restaurants, pubs and tourist attractions. Jill was helpful both before and during our stay.
We felt very privileged to stay there and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Apartments

Address: 13 North Bank Street, Edinburgh EH1 2LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very centrally located apartment’s right in the heart of the Old Town in Edinburgh with terrific views. We are located next to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and the castle. Each apartment can sleep up to 4 people and has recently been refurbished. These non-smoking apartments are self-catering and have a serviced lift/elevator. All electricity is included, as is free Wi-Fi internet access, all bed linen and towels and free use of private laundry (washing machine and dryer). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capital View Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital View Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Capital View Apartments to your Saves list