We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masson House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Masson House to your Saves list
Masson House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

To sum this up

Rooms small but very comfortable
Room service excellent
Scottish breakfast was brilliant
About a 15 min walk into Edinburgh
Although on university campus was excellent value and would highly recommend ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    101
    62
    19
    11
See reviews for
20
123
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north west uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Rooms though not luxurious were clean comfortable and had everything you needed.
Staff were very helpful, and breakfast was better than I have had in some 4* hotels.
Excellent value and very convenient for the John McIntyre conference centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

room very dated,beds need upgraded.floorboards need fixed,constant cracking and banging from pipes that run through your room,bathroom a joke,absolutely need some more space,way too expensive for the poor quality of room,for the money your better off with a travel lodge

Room Tip: get another hotel,pictures on the web site are not what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family (2 ‘auld yins’ and 2 teens) stayed in 2 double ensuite rooms for 3 nights from 15th to 17th August as part of our Edinburgh and Highland drive-tour. Masson House is an attractive hotel within the grounds of a university student residence complex. The rooms were not spacious but were still big enough, comfortable, clean and well-presented. The staff, including housekeeping, were all very friendly and helpful. Security is well-considered, with electronic pass-keys in and out of the building for late-night entry. Parking is first-come, first-serve in several nearby parts of the grounds, but I always found a spot for my hired mini-bus. Food isn’t served within Masson House itself, nor is room-service available. However, a short walk round the corner leads to a large university self-service refectory with adjacent bar. It brought back my student days but the food is far better nowadays ! A hearty full Scottish breakfast was just what was needed to start off a busy tourist day. The refectory was bursting with international tourists and Mexican performers for the Edinburgh Tattoo which all made for a very cosmopolitan, bustling atmosphere. I also liked the free hotel wall-phone directly connected to a taxi switchboard which could organize a taxi within minutes, very welcome, as city-centre parking is difficult to find and we preferred taking taxis to buses. The hotel helped make our Edinburgh stay so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited Edinburgh for a few days of the festival. Hotel prices are astronomic over August.
Had used the University before for accommodation so tried this again.
Very good quality hotel style rooms.
The "Canteen" breakfast is an experience but the food is good and we certainly enjoyed the wide choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday 17th August and the room was really clean and it was a very quiet place to stay. Would recommend Masson House to anyone looking for somewhere near city centre. Bus only cost £1.50 pp to Princes Street and bus stop right outside on main road. As my husband and I both love our breakfast when we are away Masson House did not disappoint, the choice was excellent and staff were really pleasant and helpful . Will certainly add this to one of our favourite places to stay and we will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a break in Edinburgh. We stayed at the Masson House for 2 nights. The hotel was a short bus ride to the centre of town. The rooms were clean, equipped with a hair dryer and coffee and tea making facilties. We were very impressed with our stay. We didn't find the hotel noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Masson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masson House

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Masson House 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Masson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masson House Hotel Edinburgh
Masson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.