We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Deal:Save up to 30%
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
cardiff
1 review
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

This was my wife and i first trip to scotland and this hotel was amazing.our room was the best we have ever stayed in we had complimentary wine and chocolates in our room and free upgrade,the bed was so comfy and the bathroom was fabulous with huge bath.my wife is really fussy and even she couldnt find any faults lol.we cant wait to visit edinburgh again and will defo be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    820
    169
    43
    11
See reviews for
353
1,317
135
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

This was an outstanding hotel in every way. The location was ideal, a few steps from the train station and near all major attractions. The room was quite large (opted for the larger size room which wasn't necessary). The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the management which resolved a minor problem in a more-than-fair way. When asked, we were told about seaside area and that we could get there by bus right in front of the hotel. All in all, an outstanding value and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Although I prefer the older style of hotel with roaring fires and comfy easy chairs....we could not fault this hotel The staff were the friendliest of people...the rooms and especially the bed and pillows were really comfortable..and the bathroom was quite spacious and well lit. We were amazed that we could have the full vegetarian breakfast..complete with veggie sausages....and soy milk was available also. The hotel is so close to the centre..that we could pop in and out all day which is a bonus..especially with all the xmas shopping parcels. I would without hesitation recommend this hotel...The only negative thing to me...was the decor....modern and cold. But the warmth of the staff made up for that completely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Just returned from a fantastic city break in the Apex Waterloo hotel. Cannot fault anything. Booked in within 5 minutes thanks to Kim and our room was unbelievable not to mention the gorgeous views of Edinburgh. The room had everything from comfortable bed, huge flatscreen tv, tea/coffee/water, and best of all the huge bath (the shower's great as well).
We only had breakfast in the hotel which was briliant and you are so close to many eateries for lunch or dinner.
Used the spa as well - very private pool, sauna and steam room - great for winter days when you don't want to venture too far.
Very easy check out again thanks to Laura but most of all a huge thank you to Gillian who took our booking and organised our very special stay in Edinburgh.
Will definitely be back to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the AWP hotel for three nights whilst on holiday in the UK. The hotel was clean and extremely well located near to shops, the Royal mile and Holyrood park. The rooms were sizable and we had a lovely view of Calton Hill from our room.

On the negative side, the service was not as good as it could have been. We had problems at check-in and similar problems at check-out due to an inability for staff to view notes which had been placed on the account. Service in the Hotel Bar was also poor, with long waiting times for meals. I also note that the hotel Bar appears to be a popular night spot for locals and at times this made the lobby quite noisy.

All in all the hotel was good value and very clean and comfortable. Its location makes it ideal for people who are looking to be out and about whilst in Edinburgh. However it is not a good hotel for a romantic getaway with little being offered in the way of extra services - the advertised "Spa" is in fact really just a pool, sauna and gym.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Stayed here on a DBB deal for a christmas getaway with friends. Rooms were lovely and comfortable and the location was excellent. Big downside however. I recommend you do not have any meals in the Apex at busy times of the year. We were put in a function room with other guest for breakfast. It soon became apparent we were forgotten about. It took over an hour for us to be served our breakfast. The excuse we were given was that the kitchen was busy . Also, our set meal the night before was bland and not worth the money. Recommend sleeping there but suggest eating in one of Edinburghs far superior eateries.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geordie Land
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

This hotel was very friendly and the breakfast with Peter in attendance was superb!!...he was the one that made the holiday for me and my daughter...he was fabulous at his job...the hotel was very clean and very close for everything we needed to do in this beautiful friendly city...ideal location from the train...the staff were friendly and helpful and the room we stayed in had everything we needed, it was lush...home from home and i will definately use and recommend this hotel to all my friends...i loved it...i also got a lovely reply by e mail to some of the comments i made...WELL DONE ALL at the Apex Waterloo Place...especially PETER!!!! X

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.