We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for4 days on a trip to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary , good location for getting about the city, but on a quiet road, very good and knowledgeable staff good facilities , would definitely return

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear WandererCornwall,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Congratulations on your 30th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend it here with us. We are delighted to see that you had a great stay and would return. We hope to be able to welcome you both back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    819
    169
    43
    11
See reviews for
351
1,314
134
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After 2 weeks of hiking in the Scotish countryside, we used a couple of nights in Edinburgh's Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to rest before heading home. We had been to this hotel before on a previous occassion and it didn't disappoint this time either.

The hotel has a great location just a few minutes walk away from St. James Shopping Centre and the Royal Mile and other Edinburgh attractions. The staff is friendly, the beds confortable, and the flatscreen TV larger than in any other hotel we have been in.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel, but we did have diner at Eliot's (the hotel's restaurant) and it was great (deserts a bit on the small side though).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Vossekop,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as finding our staff friendly, beds comfortable and the food served at dinner great. We will make sure your comments are passed on to our team. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I recently booked to go back to Apex Waterloo Place, Edinburgh for my anniversary and whilst there propose to my now Fiancee.

I booked the Duplex Suite for the special occasion and emailed the hotel explaining that i was hoping to propose whilst i was there, well actually as soon as I arrived in this very special room.

I have stayed here before and knew the staff were simply amazing but couldn't have envisaged how over and above the call of duty certain members of staff would go. I had a few ideas of my own but the ideas that ended up being put in place were fantastic, even some that I was unaware were happening but made the day / weekend even more special.

When we arrived for our 'anniversary' between myself and the staff member I spoke to we organised for rose petals to lead my girlfriend up the stairs of the room to the bed which had 'LOVE' spelt out with robe ties then rose petals around the edges of the ties with a heart made out of rose petals above.

In the bathroom, they had organised for rose petals around the edge of the bath with 2 little apex ducks kissing, it's these little touches which showed the extra detail which was thought about without me.

There were more personal touches I had spoken to the member of staff about and she came through with all of them to make my proposal exactly how i thought my girlfriend would want it to be including our song playing as we walked into the room. I proposed, there were tears and she said YES so myself and the hotel obviously made it perfect.

The whole weekend was made to be extra special and was the best weekend ever for both of us and one which we have both said we will remember forever.

I could not have asked for more and I will never be able to repay the member of staff for her help in making the proposal perfect however what I can do is tell everyone who reads this how amazing the hotel and staff are here. The customer service and extra mile/s gone to for me was exceptional.

IF YOU ARE CHOOSING A HOTEL IN EDINBURGH, I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ONE AS THEY HAVE IT ALL AND ARE IN A FANTASTIC AREA FOR SHOPPING, BARS, WAVERLEY STATION, CINEMA, COMEDY CLUB & THE STUNNING PARK TO PICNIC IN ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF WAVERLEY BRIDGE.

A HUGE THANK YOU TO ALL AT APEX WATERLOO PLACE, EDINBURGH, WE WILL BE BACK EVERY ANNIVERSARY.

Room Tip: Plan and Book early enough as the hotel is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Leasky1982,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review with regards to your recent stay and more importantly your proposal and engagement. We would all like to congratulate you both again. We are so pleased that everything went to plan and happy that there were some surprises for you as well as your now Fiancée on the day of your arrival. We really enjoyed helping you plan the big proposal and I think we were as excited as you were that she said yes. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back for your anniversary if not before. Good luck with all the wedding planning and the big day itself – don’t forget to send us some pictures! See you soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed there recently for the Edinburgh marathon. It is an excellent location for this, almost on the start line. Also a good central location generally. The staff were all very pleasant. Breakfast good and on the marathon day, they provided an excellent runners breakfast from early on. The room on the top floor was pretty good, although being on a corner had only one dormer window, compared with the two which the other rooms seemed to have; this made the room quite dark, and the lighting was quite dim - they seem to like dim lighting. The room was very well decorated and modern looking, except they then seem to have retrieved some of the furniture from the skip. The desk top was a bit marked, but the low table was very shoddy. I liked the fact that hot water came instantly, although I would have preferred it a bit hotter (particularly after the marathon!). There was some noise from the large A/C unit opposite when the window was open, but not bad. A/C in the room was very good.

Room Tip: Avoid corner room on the top floor with only one window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Stub60,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Well done on completing the Edinburgh Marathon! It was a very wet day so can appreciate a nice hot shower afterwards would have been welcomed. We will get our Maintenance Team to look into the water temperature on the 10th floor to check that this is not an ongoing issue – thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that some of the furniture in your room was not up to standard and we will be sure to look into this further. We are pleased to see that you found the marathon breakfast to be excellent and we hope that it sustained you throughout your long run. We are happy to see that you found our staff pleasant and we will pass this onto the team. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently just had a 2 night stay at this beautiful hotel! The rooms were spacious, clean and very modern. Maids were very attentive and helpful.

Loved the spa and also had a relaxing massage.

What let's the hotel down is the lack of staff running the restaurant. We were in for dinner on Sunday and the food was beautiful. Unfortunately the service was not, we wait 15 minutes before any drinks orders were taken - poor. The waiter who served our table did not talk at all but grumbled. At the end of the evening we had desert and then we're ignored for 20 minutes while our plates lay empty. 3 waiters proceeded to walk past us until we eventually had to ask for the bill and then to be told to hold on as they had another table to clear.

Otherwise we had a lovely stay and the bath was an AMAZING size! Tip is, stay in this stunning hotel but book dinner elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Cheryl M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and providing us with such valuable feedback. We are delighted to see that you found your room spacious and clean and the maids attentive and helpful and will be sure to pass this feedback on to the Housekeeping team. Equally we were disappointed that you found the service in the restaurant lacking. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. This is something that we will certainly be looking to rectify. On a positive we are pleased to see that you found the food beautiful and we will pass this onto our Chefs. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in March and everything was great. Location, room, service, and spa. Lots of positives.

The only negatives were that one of the steam rooms in the spa was not working and out of service and the noisy fan on the roof as we were on the top floor. However, after speaking with management they moved us to an exec suite which was great. Full marks for service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear paul c,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in March. We are sorry to see that the steam room was out of action during your stay – we do, where we can, endeavour to resolve any maintenance issues as soon as possible in order to minimise any inconvenience to our guests, unfortunately sometimes we are unable to resolve some maintenance issues in house and therefore there can be a small delay - we apologise that this appears to have been the case during your stay. Thank you for giving us the opportunity during your stay to resolve the issue you had with noise in your room from an overhead fan and we are really pleased to see that you give the service you received full marks. We will be sure to pass this onto the team. It’s great to see that you found our location, your room the service and the spa a positive experience and that overall you had a great stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Absolutely loved my 2 night spa break. Was there for a hen weekend and couldn't have asked for better. Location-10, comfort-10. Really was ace from start to finish. Staff could not have done enough. Bonus in that you get fantastic elemis toiletries in you room

Room Tip: Floor 6 was very quiet despite being just above main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Ib777,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you loved your spa break and that you found our staff helpful. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. Glad to hear you also enjoyed the Elemis toiletries in your bedroom. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.