We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great amenities, helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Deal:Save up to 30%
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great amenities, helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for a week, celebrating our anniversary, and it was a really fantastic stay. We had requested an upper-level room, and they put us on the 9th floor. The view from our room wasn't anything special, but the windows were huge and let in plenty of light. The room was a nice size, the bed was comfortable, and the soaking tub was an added bonus after a long day walking all over town.

The front desk and concierge helped us out on several occasions (everything from day trips to dinner suggestions) and they were consistently friendly and helpful.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel twice, but both times food the food was fine and the service was fast.

The housekeeping team deserves special credit. One morning we realized something was wrong with the shower drain, it was draining verrrrry slowly and the water was backing up significantly. We forgot to tell the front desk about it when we left for the day, but by the time we got back in the late afternoon, it was completely fixed. Nice to have problems sorted out before you even mention them!

Edinburgh is a very walkable city, and this hotel is perfectly situated between the old/new sections of town, so you can easily explore both on foot. It's also right next to Calton hill, which has really lovely views.

A few other bonuses: the Rabbie's tour office/cafe is now directly across the street, and the train station is about a 4 min. walk away. Both these things made day trips very easy to negotiate.

All in all, we loved our stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,539
    820
    169
    43
    11
See reviews for
353
1,316
134
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Gorgeous hotel, staff were very helpful! Rooms were very clean and had lots of little goodies for you to enjoy! Very quiet on a night and beds are very comfy! I wasnt greatly keen on breakfast but partner loved it! Spa is fab and bar is lovely! Cant wait for dec to go again!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent a birthday weekend here, and we could not have been happier. The location of the hotel is perfect, just off Princes Street, but quiet none the less. Two minutes to Waverley Station, buses at the door and everything else within walking distance.
On entering, the hotel is very stylish and clean. The staff are lovely, all really friendly and helpful. They were aware of our special occasion and added some lovely little touches, which was really thoughtful, and very much appreciated.
We had lunch in the bar, which was delicious and huge! The bar staff are great, really friendly and chatty and make you feel very welcome. The cocktails are fabulous!
The spa and pool area are very luxurious, we didn't do any treatments but had a relaxing dip and used the sauna and steam room - the perfect start to the day.
The room service menu looked very reasonably priced to me with a varied selection, we didn't use this, but we did have breakfast in our room to finish, which was most enjoyable.
I am so glad I booked this hotel and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uttoxeter
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and i stayed for two nights and must say what a pleasant experiance,the staff were very nice and helpful the room was very spacious with everything you could want. The breakfast was good and served with a pleasant smile and helpfullness,the only downside to the hotel was the bar staff which were very slow and did not have all the ingredients for quite a few of the cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I spent the first four days/three nights of our honeymoon at the Apex Waterloo and had a lovely experience! When we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful, and they had upgraded our room (I believe to a Superior) at no cost. The room was spacious, our wonderful view looked out on Princes Street, the bed was very comfy, and we had complimentary snacks and water--a rarity in most hotels. The location was perfect---we were just off the main drag so it was quiet but easy walking distance to many attractions (Calton Hill, the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, shopping on Princes St), and just a short walk to and from the train station where we arrived and left from.

I can't even think of any "cons" to list, I have nothing but good things to say about our stay. I hope that we will be able to return some time and stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is situated in a very central location in the heart of Edinburgh, It is close to Calton Hill and a short walk from the drop off point for the airport bus and Waverley Station.

When we arrived at the hotel around 11:00 hours we were greeted immediately by the reception staff who were extremely pleasant and welcoming. Our room was ready for us which was a pleasant surprise as we had not expected it to be at that hour of the day. We were shown to Room 914 which faced out towards Calton Hill. We had requested a quiet room and this proved to be the case so it was good to see that our requirements had been taken into consideration.

The room, which was a standard double, was extremely comfortable and equipped with everything that you could need. There was a good supply of teas, coffees and biscuits and an electric kettle. An ironing board and iron, a safe and a hairdryer were also provided. I was delighted to see that the hairdryer was not attached to anything and that the switch operated without having to be held down persistently! That is something which is a real pain with some hotel hairdryers!

The bed was extremely comfortable with really lovely pillows and you could lie in bed and watch the large flat-screen TV (probably 42 inch). The heating/air-conditioning was set at a comfortable level and could be easily controlled within the room.

The bathroom was very clean with lots of towels and good quality toiletries as well as good mirrors. We were impressed by the fact that there was a bath as well as a large walk-in shower and everything in the room functioned well.

We decided not to have breakfast in the hotel as it was rather expensive at £15 a head. Instead we ate at an Italian cafe a short distance from the hotel on the same block. They had a good choice of English and continental breakfasts at a more reasonable price and they did good coffee as well.

The hotel has a restaurant but we didn't eat there so I cannot comment on the food. Howie's restaurant is just a few doors up and we ate there one night. It was very good and is very popular. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance so there is no difficulty in finding somewhere to eat to suit most tastes.

We didn't use the pool or spa but did look in at the pool which didn't seem particularly large.

The hotel is in a great location close to Princes Street, restaurants, shops, bars, many of the main attractions and public transport. If you want somewhere really comfortable with pleasant, unintrusive and efficient staff this is the place to choose. It is a very well run hotel and we had a really good night's sleep on the two nights that we stayed there. This is an ideal place to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Room 914 is a quiet room and has a view of Calton Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had stayed the previous night at the Hilton Grosvenor and what a difference! Rooms are spacious, comfortable and have a luxurious feel (though I was disappointed to find the coffee table and dressing table chipped). Lovely Elemis toiletries and fluffy towels. We used the gym which was well-equipped but was not properly air conditioned and got very warm trying to run on the treadmill. The pool is a nice area and has a boutique feel and despite it being Easter weekend was empty. Though I would have liked a robe to return from the pool area but you only get these in certain rooms. They don’t cost that much and would save walking back to your room in sweaty/wet clothes. The steam room wasn’t working properly and I think this has been mentioned on here before. We didn’t have much interaction with the staff (other than in the restaurant) but when we did it was very polite and our requests met. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. Unfortunately the service was dreadful. Took ages for the drinks to arrive, swiftly followed by bread and almost immediately the main course. The waiting on staff would congregate around the reception area chatting whilst we were waiting for drinks/bread etc and there was only a handful of customers dining. The food (a simple steak) was very tasty however the ‘meal deal’ (steak frites and a glass of wine) could have been extended to a beer instead of wine but this was not allowed – really?? So I had my partners wine and he paid extra for the beer. The cafe down the road did good croissants and coffee for a few quid rather than the £15 breakfast in the hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the airport bus and centrally located particularly for the shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.