We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Deal:Save up to 30%
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Paris
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is by a nice breakfast place towards Princes street, the Howies restaurant up the street which has a great lunch menu.
There is a mall and movie theater on Leith street and all the shops you can dream of on Princes street (Primark, M&S and the like)
Up the street you will find Regent Gardens which overlook the city and is a must see, especially if it is sunny. You just have to go over the north bridge, with a nice view of the city and 5 italian restaurants!, to get to the touristic Royal Mile with the Castle, the Palace, the church, lots of restaurants and tourist shops.
The train station is also very close (but you don't hear anything as it is below)
The hotel itself looks new, you get free wifi, AC, a big TV, hairdryer and iron, tea, kettle and biscuits and a big shower room. We haven't tried the gym and the swimming pool but they are complimentary as well.
The reception desk is very helpful. Great stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    820
    169
    43
    11
See reviews for
353
1,318
135
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just for a night but was very very beautiful.
if you have a car, parking is very tight, so be prepared.
stuff are so friendly and helpful. they will book taxi for you on time whenever you need. lobby bar beautiful and looked like they have a nice restaurant on site but we did not dine there.
room, beautiful room with modern decoration, you get to take home a cute duck for your memory and i think that is very cute and nice thing they do in this hotel.
only the problem was the view.
lobby is on the fifth floor and your room could possibly be underground like ours, well, we still had windows and sun but the view was the worst i ever seen... all we saw was construction stuff from our window . nothing else.. lol
but the hotel itself was so beautiful. just make sure you have higher floor for better view!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and the standards are still excellent.The reception staff are friendly and helpful always willing to give advise and directions to attractions in the city.
The rooms are clean and spacious for a capital /city hotel.The bathroom had a separate shower and bath.The room had a side view which is quieter.The food is of excellent standard.The pre theater menu is excellent value.Breakfast is served to you which makes a pleasant change.The service can be slow if the restaurant is busy, but we don't mind as we like a leisurely breakfast.The full english is excellent and the smoked salmon is very tasty.We always leave our luggage at reception on the day of departure and return for a drink in the bar, which is a great place to relax before catching the train.
The hotel has the great advantage of having a lift that takes you the rear entrance of the hotel ,so you are on the right level for railway station.
The hotel is perfectly placed for the station and for visiting the attractions in the old and new parts of the city

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and to the side as these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I recently stayed with my 2 sisters at Apex Waterloo in Edinburgh to celebrate a birthday and we had a wonderful time. The room was large, clean and comfortable, the ensuite was huge and breakfast was fab. The staff were all very friendly,professional and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the Spa and pool. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the city, it couldn't be closer to the train station and Edinburgh's many fine bars and restaurants. I would recommend this excellent and beautiful hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staying just for one night was a shame as this hotel has lovely rooms, great location for the city and it's own entrance by the station. Staff were friendly and the room very clean. Nice city centre hotel that is well worth staying at when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay at the Apex Waterloo Place and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I stayed with my mother as part of a birthday celebration and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The whole hotel was spotless and the pool/sauna/steam room were excellent. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the days to explore. Fabulous location. Definitely a five star stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great service and breakfast.
The location is perfect just between old and new city.
Kasia the from front office was a superstar! Made our stay the best.

We had booked a room in another hotel that was not as required! Super happy to transfer to Apex hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.