We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned 22 months later - just as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% DISCOUNT
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Returned 22 months later - just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This time I visited for a one night business trip as opposed to a three night family break. The room was smaller (perhaps reflecting the fact that I was a single guest in a double room and the room was cheaper), but it was still a good size and it had all the facilities from a safe to a fridge and an iron to coffee facilities. Bed was comfy although I struggled with the air conditioning so I woke up cold. Bathroom had both a bath and a separate shower cubicle. Complimentary bottles of water again, but this time no complimentary snacks. Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening, but I had a good quality breakfast - hot and freshly cooked. Excellent location - obviously unchanged from last time! I must say it - the best toilet rolls I have ever experienced in a hotel bathroom.

Room Tip: Having stayed twice, my eighth floor room was much larger than my third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    817
    167
    43
    11
See reviews for
350
1,311
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelty, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed here on 23rd march 2013. The hotel, staff, food and room was fantastic. We had treatments in the sap which were lovely and staff were very professional. The size of the spa was disappionting and there was not alot of chill out space especially during busy times. We booked this through spa breaks.com who were dreadful. It took us over 3 weeks to get booked. The staff at the hotel were keen to please and offered us drinks vouchers for the terrible service we received from there agents spa breaks. Will def return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a short one night / two day stay in Edinburgh. The weather was awful and freezing however the Hotel more than made up for it.
It is a modern clean Hotel in a good location. Staff were very helpful and the food was excellent.
The Steam room and Sauna were fantastic and just what we needed after a day outside in the cold.
Would definitely recommend, and we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent hotel close to city centre. Room very comfortable but why so many cushions on the bed??!! Breakfast is very good. Found staff to be friendly welcoming and helpful. Will always be my choice when staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was prompted to book the Apex Waterloo Place, Edinburgh on recommnedation from a friend. there were 8 of us on our way back from an endurance cycle up North and we thought we'd finish with some comfort and a night on the tiles!

We arrived to be greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Check-in was swift and our bikes were safely stashed. The rooms were warm and comfortable with great showers (just what we needed). After an evening out we finished up back at the hotel bar chatting with other guests - all very pleasant.

The breakfast that sent us on our way was spot on!

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Room ready at 900 am ,not the best view in lower ground floor,but excellent comfortable and very clean modern room. Sleep was great,no noise heard at all. Breakfast very good plenty of great coffee . We didn't use the restaurant as we were out and about but costs looked reasonable.
Cases held safe for us all day ,avoiding the drag around !
We would definitely use this hotel again .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service was excellent, very professional and polite.
The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, modern, quiet with satellite tv, office desk.
The shower temperature was variable but ok
The breakfast was excellent with choice of traditional cooked or continental buffet all of high quality.
There is a spacious and comfortable bar area.
Extensive room service and formal dining in restaurant at night. I would have liked some informal dining options at night other than room service.
Excellent location on a quiet street adjacent to Princes Street and near Waverley Station. There is a range of local amenities including pub, restaurant, shop, cafe on same street.

Likes:
Location, breakfasts, room, service

Dislikes:
Shower temperature variance, lack of informal dining choices outside room service at night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.