We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great deal:Save up to 30
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second trip to the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and we were very pleased that we returned. The hotel is ideally located a short walk from both the station and the centre of town. Everyone at reception was very friendly and helpful throughout, as was the cheery chap who delivered our room service breakfast each morning. Another reviewer mentioned having to go up and down stairs - not the case as there are 2 very fast large lifts. We were on the 9th floor and never waited more than a few seconds for a lift up or down. Elliotts restaurant and the spa were also very good. The room had everything we needed, was spacious with plenty of storage and the bathroom had both a great shower and bath which my wife was delighted with. It's literally a 2 min walk to Princes Street, yet is very quiet and tucked away from the bustle. Overall another great stay and we hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    776
    161
    41
    10
See reviews for
335
1257
127
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stylish modern hotel in an interesting old building. We stayed two nights and our room was comfortable and well equipped. The pool is lovely. Breakfast was good with hot meals cooked to order. Anyone arriving in Edinburgh by train should consider this hotel which is so convenient for the station and also for shopping and access to the main sights. I would expect to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have this place a 5 for everything except for service where they got 4 stars. do I have to beg for a cake of soap or 7 everyday?? they are a bit tight assed with their bathroom products and I love to pinch them and I have aunts back home waiting...

breakfast not all that great, coffee is putrid. front desk staff great!

oh and yes, if you have laundry that needs doing instead of £2.50 for a pair of jocks having the hotel do it ask the staff to point you in the direction of the neighbourhood laundry. I just ran 2 big bags there(only 10 min walk away) £8 for both bags.

rooms are quite large

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and loved the location, the restaurant and the spa/gym. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was very comfortable and relaxing. We shall certainly stay here again. The restaurant was a welcome surprise, I had not expected fine dining and wished that I had not booked elsewhere to eat after the first evening - no need to go out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel, located in a brilliant spot. Only minutes from the train station, shops and restaurants, but very quiet. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was well above average. Lovely to have hot food cooked to order. The eggs benedict were delicious.
Woud definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food and a location in a fine part of the City, rooms were spotless and the public areas were decorated very subtly for the season managing to retain the comfortable but stylish feel to the hotel The staff were so friendly and accommodating, I thought I was in Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at this Apex for a long weekend in October and really liked it. We had booked put rooms in May and when I noticed they had a room sale in in August I was allowed to get the room at the sale price.
All of the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you.
I loved the room we were allocated that overlooked Carlton Hill. The decor really appealed to me, and I loved the bathroom.
Breakfast was great, and we enjoyed using the bar in the hotel. We didn't try put the restaurant on the evening but it always looked busy.
The swimming pool is fantastic!
A great hotel in a great location with lovely decor + friendly and efficient staff. I wouldn't hesitate to go back back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.