We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , very touristy , expected of course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fife Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location , very touristy , expected of course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Booked hotel , to be in the centre of town , and close to shops and eating houses. Definatley met the requirement , and was a good stay . Superior room , very nice , hotel clean . Spa although small , was good to visit . I know it is in the centre of Edinburgh and right for tourists , but some local staff , who know the area , would have been handy . The cost would prohibit me staying frequently , but as a treat it was nice

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,675
    896
    178
    50
    13
See reviews for
391
1,430
144
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

If your after a hotel in an excellent location, close to the train station, and both the old and the new town your in for a treat. We stayed for 4 nights and had a fabulous nights sleep in our super comfy bed every single night. The room was great, a massive tv, huge bath, spacious shower and storage units and super clean. The friendly and helpful staff were always at hand. There is even a 'secret' underground passageway on the lower floors which provides a short cut to the rear of the train station saving time when your running to catch a train (very handy). There is also a spa and a gym (which we didnt get round to using). We did use the hotels Elliotts restaurant, it was yummy!! A little pricey but the steak was most definately worth it. I could not fault this hotel and I would definately use it again:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Me & my partner stayed for one night in this lovely hotel, we got a free upgrade to a superior double room which was lovely! Really comfortable king size bed, 47 inch flat screen tv with freeview, choice of rental dvds (free of charge - just leave a deposit) We were asked if we wanted a room wtih a shower, bath or both (we went for both!) lovely bath & massive walk-in shower, robes & elemis toiletries!
The room was equipped with a hairdryer, kettle & goodies on the tray!!
On the morning of departure we enjoyed the spa area, with use of the pool & steam room - which was lovely, towels included so you don't need to take them from your room.
Would definately stay again, well worth the standard price. Staff lovely & helpful, and looked after our bags until 5pm until we got our train home. Location excellent as just behind the station!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pskov, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great hotel in the city centre. 10 minutes walk to the sights, shops and old town. Room was large, clean, very comfortable and modern.There are staff, wich speak into Russian language. It was very pleasant and helped us very much. Very good choice of dishes in the restaurant. We had good rest.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Great city centre hotel, Lovely spacious clean bright room with everything you could want in it. Excellent bathroom, very clean with huge bath and amazing shower. The staff are fantastic, could not be more helpful. From dietary requirements to extra milk to newspapers to luggage storage absolutely nothing was a problem to them. Lovely modern interior, but still friendly not clinical like some can be. One minute walk to Princes Street, or The Royal Mile.
Will be certain to stop here again and recommend to others. No complaints what so ever.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Hotel is in brilliant location close to shops and places of interest. Second stay in this hotel the only problem was this time the room had no bath which I prefer. Staff all good, breakfast is self serve cereal etc. anything cooked is served very quickly in a few mins.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great hotel in the city centre. Room was lovely, clean, bright and had plenty of space. It was also pretty quiet for being in the centre of town (and considering we live in the country and are used to NO noise). The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Two minutes walk to the shops on Princes St and close to the bridge over to the Royal Mile etc for all the sight-seers. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We took an executive room which we felt was worth the extra wee bit for a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.