We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Could not have asked for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Fantastic hotel! We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the top floor, with 180 degree view of the city! The room had a huge LCD t.v, ipod dock, dvd player etc. The bathroom was huge with a big bath and the bed was really comfy with tonnes of pillows. Food was great and staff very efficient and friendly! We made use of the pool, sauna and steam room after a cold, wet and windy day out and about. Was the perfect way to warm up! We were sad to leave and will be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    895
    177
    50
    13
See reviews for
390
1,429
144
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Second stay and will definitely be back. There is nothing negative to say about it. The food, service and staff are all second to none. Used the gym....small but did the job! Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Have just returned from a long new year's weekend, and have to say we were super impressed with the Apex Waterloo.

We stayed in a deluxe double room on the 10th floor (identical to the one shown on the hotel's official website). When we walked in we were both over the moon: spacious, comfortable, perfect lighting, nice temperature (easily adjusted if it gets too warm), a massive bed with tonnes of cushions that deserved to be dived onto as soon as our bags hit the floor, a lovely modern bathroom with a huge tub and separate standing shower. And lots of nice touches too (not limited to an ipod dock/clock, espresso machine, complimentary jelly beans and cookies, the infamous duck, oh and a 40 inch flatscreen TV). When booking the room we'd paid for a bottle of champagne too, which was chilled and waiting in the room - the icing on the cake really.

The hotel staff were always very helpful and friendly, for example, when we decided to order from the breakfast room service a little later than the stated hours, the kitchen staff had no hesitation in delivering to our room what was a truly epic breakfast. Unfortunately we forgot our bathing suits so didn't get a chance to use the pool and spa facilities, but we'll definitely have a go on our next visit.

There were a couple of minor niggles: one being the lack of a toilet brush in the bathroom (use your imagination, or not!), the other being that on one morning the staff preparing/cleaning other rooms on the floor were quite noisy, shutting doors loudly and talking loudly in the corridors.

That aside, as my first experience of Edinburgh I couldn't have asked for more - the hotel is in a perfect central location, yet the area around the hotel is not noisy or crowded at all, with very little traffic. To get there from Edinburgh airport it took 20 minutes in a taxi at rush hour, and the train station is also literally two minutes walk away from the hotel - leave via the secret back door on the 'bottom' floor (the signs in the elevator make it clear this is the way to get to the station) but just look out for the steps across the road leading up to the station, as they're easy to miss.

If you too are a newcomer to Edinburgh it's also a good spot if you want to do some wandering, with the monuments and castle very close by, and Princes Street literally down the road. As for Hogmanay, it's an ideal spot for the dawdle back after the festivities have come to an end, and reassuringly there was actually a 'bouncer' on the door to stop unwanted revellers from entering the hotel!

Top class, we really rate this hotel and would love to come back.

Room Tip: Double deluxe room on the 10th floor - unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here on 30th December until 1st January and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel.

The breakfast is freshly made to order and is of excellent quality.

The pool/sauna/steam room/gym is clean and well maintained.

Obviously we stayed here on the busiest night of the year, but I still slept soundly and didn't hear any noise after around 1am. Rooms must be really well soundproofed!

Staff are really friendly and nothing is too much bother.

The only thing that would have improved my stay is to offer free parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were tempted with the The Balmoral but the rooms were were going to book all sold out so we came to the Apex which was our second choice after reading the reviews. I was slightly disappointed. We upgraded to a superior room but I have to say we've been to a lot nicer hotels for less money. The mattress and bedding could have been more luxurious and I feel that the staff could have been friendlier or warmer. The location is good but we were put on the forth floor around the back which was very noisy at night, two nights of our three with drunken Christmas partygoers on their way home at 3am. My husband went for a swim and a steam which he said was very nice. It was nice to have a soak in the nice big bath with Elemis bubble bath and a rubber duckie!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

breakfast was of a good quality, rooms are amazing and the bar staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had an excellent stay here in December. The room was very modern and clean. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.