We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting shame about staff training” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting shame about staff training”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel let down by the staff not being properly staffed in how to ensure its run properly. Having booked and pre-paid a deluxe room some three weeks before arrival, I was upset to be turned away not once but twice when trying to book in at 2pm as is usual. I do understand it was the height of the Edinburgh festival but for a 4 start hotel its not good enough to tell paying guests their room wont be ready till 2.30, then when they show up at that time to say 3.00pm. This was not a good start to the holiday especially as we had a show booked for 4pm and wanted to shower beforehand having been up since 5.00 am. On the last day we filled out the breakfast in bed request and woke up at 9.00 am to find it had not been taken and no breakfast or apology provided. This left a bad impression on us and we will not be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,672
    892
    177
    50
    13
See reviews for
389
1,427
144
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The boutique hotel was just what we required. The room was definitely adequate but one of the best parts to our 4-night stay was the superb full breakfast which we felt well worth the money and kept us going throughout the day. The variety and freshness of the fruits; cereal, croissants etc. plus the cooked breakfast was wonderful. The wait staff were very friendly and gave us terrific service. We even had dinner there one night.

Room Tip: When booking we asked for a quiet room and this request was granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Hotel in good location. Nice enough hotel, although I would say the Apex International and City Hotel in Edinburgh would be nicer. Staff would be better in these hotels also. Rooms quite cold no heating, awkward shape of a room also. Hotel bar staff were unable to make cocktails stated they hadnt the ingredients (only asked for a pina colada). Hotel was fine as stated good location but I wouldnt stay in it again, wouldnt be my favourite choice especially for the money paid. Hotel pool was closed also whilst on our 4 day stay.

Room Tip: Maybe a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a great time at the Apex Waterloo, we upgraded to the deluxe king suite, paid a bit more but loved the space. The room was beautiful, very updated and within walking distance of most of the sites. The front desk was very friendly, helping us with a converter for our plug ins, advice about how to get around etc. Would definitely recommend this hotel, a bit pricey but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as we were attending the Edinburgh Tattoo. It was a great experience. The room was lovely, the restaurant excellent, the staff really helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room. The room was quite small but the bed enormous. The bathroom was ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

If is wasnt for the 24 steps we had to climb to the Master Suite on the 8th floor, we would have given this hotel an Excellent review. However, it is no fun dragging suitcases from Waverley Station, which is under construction and then be faced with all those steps! Other than that we had a great time. The Master Suite is very spacious with two rooms, a comfortable couch, two TVs and a large walk-in shower as well as a free standing tub. Internet was free and reasonably quick. Each day our supply of bottled water, Pringles and cookies was replaced free of charge. We had the B & B option and there was a good selection of both hot and cold breakfasts each morning. We never had any trouble getting answers to our questions about being a tourist in Edinburgh from the helpful and always available staff. Dinner in Elliots Restaurant was delicious. Besides an elevator to our room, or some one to carry our bags, my only other request would be for more drawers for our clothes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here at the very busy time of the Edinburgh Tattoo and the Fringe festival for out wedding anniversary. This was our first time in Edinburgh. The hotel was very easy to find from the main bus stand in Waverley Place which is opposite Waverley train station. We arrived to a very modern looking reception with very friendly staff who offered to take out bags to our room. We were asked why we was visiting to which the receptionist upgraded us to a superior room which was very much appreciated. The lifts to out room were very fast and smooth and you wouldnt have realised that you were on the eighth floor as floor 4 and under is under street level. Our room was very nice with comfortable furniture and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and I have visited a lot of hotels. The superior room gave us extras such as dressing gowns, a walk in shower and seperate bath, a kingsize bed as well as a seating area. There was also a radio alarm clock which had and ipod/iphone dock for you to enjoy your music aloud and recharge at the same time. There is a huge flatscreen TV on the wall opposite the bed which as the volumn limited to stop neighbours being disturbed. The safe was free to use and there was a fridge with bottled water as well as tea and coffee making facilities, packets or pringles and biscuits. There was an ironing board and iron in the cupboard. The toiletries provided were from Elemis and of good quality. I felt the lighting in the room could have been better due to there being no light by the dressing table or no light in the entrance hall where the full length mirror was. Some of the finishing within the room could have been better but that was a very minor fault and really only noticed as my husband is a builder. Water to the bath was lovely and hot and filled very fast and the shower had good pressure and a constant temperature. We had breakfast provided which was lovely. There was a very good range of continental breakfast available for you to help youself as well as cooked options and you could have both. There wasnt a massive choice on the cooked menu but we soon realised that you didnt have to have what was on there but could make up your own breakfast choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the service was very attentive and prompt. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff throughout the whole hotel. The restaurant itself was very comfortable and modern. We used the spa facilities once and was very impressed. The pool was not deep but was a good size and helped by the fact that the day we visited we had the whole spa to ourselves. Lots of floats and childrens toys and rubber rings provided for guest use as well. The sauna was lovely as was the steam room which had twinkly lights on the ceiling which changed colour. The changing facilites and showers in the spa were imacculate with anything you would need provided except conditioner in the ladies shower so take you own down. We used the bar area once and the staff there were great and made us sit down and waiter service was provided throught the evening. Rice cracker nibbles were provided as complementary. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definately consider returning here next time I visited. We booked via Travel Republic and got breakfast, accomodation and flights from London city airport for only £4.00 more then booking room only via the hotel.

Room Tip: and room below floor 5 will not have a very good view due to it being below street level to the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23 - 27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.