We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated tourist trap: much better options around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The World's End

The World's End
4 High Street, Edinburgh EH11TB , Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
0131 556 3628
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 1,824 restaurants in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overrated tourist trap: much better options around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We used to come here every time we were in Edinburgh, but this has been the last time. The food is still good, though not spectacular, but expensive compared to the competition. Sauces come in small individual packages, rather than bottles, which is not necessarily a problem, but not a sign of good quality either. Drinks are much worse: not even one IPA on tap (when asking for a recommendation, the barman could only describe the few draught beers he had as "light" and "lighter"; the Belhaven brew he recommended was horrible); no cider except Strongbow, and again, high prices. The interior of the pub, which was nice in the past, is now covered in T-shirts you can buy, and advertisements for other souvenirs. Almost every pub on the Royal Mile would be a better choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    266
    213
    36
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were visiting Edinburgh for the day and wanted to eat something after a long walk around the city.This place was a very pleasant surprise.Nice warm atmosphere,friendly staff and the food was simply delicious.Best food i had ever tasted in a pub.Well cooked,perfect ingredients mix and good quality.Looking forward to drop by again on our next visit to town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“M'eh?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Heard rave reviews for The World's End and had to try it. So I'll write my review to reflect the experience... therewasonlyroomfortwoofusandweweresocrowdedwecouldnteattheoutlandishlyblandfoodwewereserved.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Didn't even eat as children are not allowed in at 5pm on a Monday.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Are Edinburgh pubs stuck in the 19th century? Surely if you rely on the tourist trade and you get lots of tourists who bring their children with them you would think that nobody would turn away custom. How wrong can you get? A couple with a 4 year old are not allowed in. We were not even asked if we were eating or not, which we would have been. To be honest you don't deserve any custom at all. If we were walking in at 9pm then fair enough but not at 5pm. Get with it and practise some customer service. I'm astounded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We always wanted to have a pub experience in Edinburgh and our choice was perfectly right! The World’s End is a great pub with heavenly food and perfect atmosphere. We spent almost 2 hours there and didn’t want to leave a bit. We had fish&chips and steak& ale pie with delicious beers. Food may have come directly from heaven! The tartar sauce served with fish&chips was amazing! And I can’t find enough words to impress my feelings about steak &ale pie. It was perfectly cooked!

Both fish&chips and steak&ale pie were around 10£. With 3 beers and 1 soft drink the bill came around 55£ for a group of 4.

To say it short, The world’s End is a must-go place in Edinburgh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World's End also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The World's End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.