We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampans Oriental Restaurant

Sampans Oriental Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh | 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
+44 1313147045
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,070 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $30 - $61
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The convivial Sampans restaurant within Edinburgh's Holiday Inn is a smart and inviting space with a straightforward menu of Oriental favourites. Pale woods and zingy walls give the restaurant a modern, uncluttered feel, with an airy glass frontage that offer far-reaching views towards the Pentland Hills. Food ranges through spicy pan-Asian flavours, with Thai and Malaysian dishes accompanying the Chinese standards.
Frankfurt Am Main
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Rain and laziness led us to decide to eat in the hotel where we were staying. We chose this Panasian restaurant and were amazed at the standard of the food which was good enough to rival any stand alone restaurant. Pleasant, helpful staff served piping hot lovely food. A nice touch was being given fortune cookies with bill. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Real Treat and What a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ate there earlier this week while staying in the Holiday Inn - Food is fantastic, service great and the prices are reasonable too. The views from the restaurant are amazing . . . a really great night. One of the Chefs came out to talk to us . . . genuine Oriental Chefs too . . . wow. . . we tried the place opposite the next night (Cool Jade) but this place is far better . . . can't wait till I;m back up next month for some more of that menu!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“fan-pan-tastic-asian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

delicious asian food, they have all my favourites: duck, scallops, sea bass and jasmin tea.
quick service and friendly waiting staff.
This is restaurant!!! so why do you expect cheap take away prices?!?!?
although take away is awailable.
sugestion: try discounted early dinner menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Some different choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a good table near to the window the decor and surroundings give the place a relaxed feel.
We chose a banquet for two which had some different choices from the run of the mill chinese.
food and service was very good a liitle more expensive than the chinese across the road but on balance was worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Radical changes required”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

On the recommendation of hotel staff my family and I dined here last week. Three of us chose the set £23.50 summer menu which included starter, main and 1 beverage. Bitterly disappointed - very poor value for money and portion sizes were minute. My son's choice from the main menu was far from impressive also; however he did have the added bonus of finding a hair in amongst his main. To add insult to injury they had the audacity to charge a hidden 12.5% service charge to the final bill. Management should be upfront about hidden service charges, reduce their prices, increase portion size and ensure hair nets are worn in the preparation and cooking area. We found that we received much better service and value for money from the Asian restaurant located across the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampans Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Sampans Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampans Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.