We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin

Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin to your Saves list
Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Lochrin Place, Edinburgh EH3 9RB, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice apartment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My mum, dad, brother, husband and I all stayed here on the 23rd-25th August.
I can't remember how much was paid, but I believe it was £200 per night. Comparable with a hotel. They apartment had underground parking as well, which was a deal breaker as to the reason to go here.

The TV was an old one and the internet connection was intermittent (hence the 4 star and not 5), but the flat was lovely and had everything we needed.

It was near amenities, and although this isn't quite the city centre, it is very close to it. My dad is an old man who complains about walking, but he was able to walk to city centre from apartment without complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The owner greeted us upon arrival and showed us the apartment, which was nice and spacious. There were only three of us in a 6 bed, but even with 6 it would have been fine. Had everything you needed inc cooker, pots, pans, washing machine, dish washer etc.

Very quiet as it is located off the main road.

Close to amenities. The walk to the Grass Market only took 10 minutes which was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

They were average did the job on a budget not the star rating which was stated 1 star only,they are not serviced, shops are nearby, the city is about far, good bus service need to hire car to get to places of intrest,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were shown around the apartment as soon as we arrived and were amazed at what we got via Booking.com...great stuff. apartment clean and very spacious with everything you could possible need supplied. Shops nearby and castle within walking distance, as well as everything else. Hop on/off bus is a great idea to get an idea on places to visit (channel 2 was a scream). Only issue we had was the dryer didnt seem to work properly but advised owner of this. Car secure in underground carpark and recommend you keep it there and either walk or bus everywhere as so much easier. BTW food at the Deacon Brodie was great!

Room Tip: We got a great bargain on the penthouse via booking.com. Brilliant stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Six of us stayed here for a long weekend and it was just what we needed (someone to lay our heads) it had all the amenities 2 bathrooms with towels supplied, washing machine, dishwasher etc. The beds were comfortable however there was a dip in the bed in the double room. There is a tesco and boots around the corner so we had no problem getting ourselves toiletries or food. Its in good walking distance from the grass market it took us about 10 mins to walk it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The owner who let us in was very helpful and friendly. The area is nice, with lots of restaurants nearby, a supermarket, plenty of buses and is a reasonable walk into the city centre. The apartment itself was very large and very comfortable. The only critique i have is that the mattress on the queen bed is terrible, it needs replacing. The wifi is not fantastic, but it works.
Would stay here again, and definitely recommend. We loved it, definitely the best accommodation we've stayed in on our trip so far.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverclyde
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked the Pearl Apartments in Lochrin Place Edinburgh through Booking.com at £195 for 2 nights.

Car park is located below the apartments in underground car park - secured with remote locking device.

Lifts take you to the apartments.

Lovely and modern inside and spotlessly clean throughout.

Beds very comfortable, we had a 2 bedroom apartment which had a double and twin room which had 2 futon style fold down chair beds (we did not need to use them so cannot comment upon their comfort but twins were comfortable with modern spotlessly clean bedding).

Livingroom was large with wooden flooring, open plan with modern fully equipped spotlessly clean kitchen which had all of the essentials including dishwasher tablets, scourer, washing liquid, tea coffee etc...

Only negatives were that the livingroom was on spring type system which pulled it shut quite quickly which was a concern with us having 2 kids aged 4 and 3 plus the slamming noise was annoying to us; hopefully not the neighbours. There was a door stop but a suggestion would be to remove spring. The other minor detail was that the tv was an old style tv (not modern plasma) but hey I'm being picky here and we were not there to watch tv.

Location is excellent, 10 mins walk from Grassmarket, 15 to princess St and all the attractions.

Quite wee street at night time so a sound nights sleep was had by all - bedrooms were to rear overlooking the communal modern gardens.

Thoroughly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin

Address: 20 Lochrin Place, Edinburgh EH3 9RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edinburgh Pearl Apartments Lochrin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.