We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would certainly visit again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildfire

Wildfire
192 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AZ, Scotland (New Town)
0131 225 3636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: New Town
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Would certainly visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Wildfire and were impressed with the service and the food.

When I called to book, they informed me that they would need our table back by 9pm, which was fine as we showed up at 6.30pm. Having said that, not at any point did we feel rushed to leave or eat up fast, infact we stayed till 9pm and even then weren't pushed out of the restaurant.

Apart from that, the food was divine. I had the special starter of salmon parcels with fennel and apple, which was so tasty. My partner had the butternut squash and coconut soup, which was also very tasty. For our mains we had steaks which were cooked just the right way and we even indulged in dessert of Orange & Grand Marnier crème brûlée with homemade shortbread, it was divine.

My partner had an ale called Dark Island to wash all the lovely food down with and he highly recommends this too.

All in all, 2 x 3 course meal with drinks came to £75, which we felt was worth it, considering our mains were steaks. Would certainly come back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    198
    46
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Exceptional Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've found it hard to find a place that doesn't overcook their steaks. This is definitely one of them!

The waitress was kind enough to fit us in at the last open table that was reserved 1 1/2 hours later. The Steak was fantastic, and there are a few well priced wines to match. Starters and puddings were not noteworthy, but decent.

Service was a bit slow, as it took 1 1/2 hours to finish (not a problem normally, but we were being rushed at the end even though we ordered very quickly to ensure they could fulfill their reservation). The prices are also quite high, but it is justified by the quality and the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good food, a little expensive - maybe?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first evening in Edinburgh after fkying over from the USA. We were strolling along Rose Street - where you can't spit without hitting restaurant(ewww). We were drawn to Wildfire mainly because it wasn't too crowded and it wasn't noisy - also because it had an interesting menu.

I had the catch of the day, pan fried bream with *fresh* peas, bacon, pearl onions and potatoes in a cream sauce. When asked, the waitress infomed me bream had a mild flavor, similar to sea bass - and she was right. The fish was firm and flaky with the edges of the skin slightly crisp - a wedge of lemon helped to enhance the taste. The vegetables were excellent, I only wish I had had the appetite to eat them all.

My wife chose eat vegetarian, the Morrocan Sweet Potato with chick peas and spinach tagine - and she's not a big fan of cooked spinach. She thought the dish was one of the best vegetarian meals she's ever had - my sampling found me in agreement. The dish was well acommpanied by cucumbers in - what she thought might be - sour cream, and - surprisingly - garlic bread.

The chef has a light hand with the salt permitting the natural flavors of the food to come out. The kitchen uses really fresh ingredients - my peas were not the normal canned, over cooked ones from English cooking humour. (I know, I know - Scotland is not England, I was using the closest UK cooking humour I know,) My one quibble was I thought the sweet potato dish could have been a little spicier - my wife disagrees.

The food service was surprisingly fast - the bill processing less so. As to my question mark on the subject line. I noticed several younger people trun away when they saw the prices, but for the prices we're used to at a decent restaurant in the USA, they were definately comparable. We walked in on a Friday evening about 1900hrs, by the time we left at 2030hrs, they were turning customers away who did not have reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A dinner to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had dinner at Wildfire together with my girlfriend and my parents. What a delightful dinner. I got salmon on mashed potatoes with pesto and sundried tomatoes. Kind of a weird combination, but it tasted fantastic. My dad had the same dish and was equally happy.
My girlfrind and mother got one of the steaks which also was a tasteful experience.

The desserts were nice as well although not as good as the main courses.
Furthermore we got the table by the entrance which was a bit annoying because people continued to come in asking for tables.

All in all though this was the best british meal we had during our two week stay in Britain.
I can also highly recommend the beer called Nimbus, which I got at Wildfire. What a fantastic beer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak In Edinburgh....almost!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dined here recently, and it was fantastic.

Brilliant service, waitress very friendly.

Great wine menu and not being that clued up our wine was chosen for us, and it was perfect.

Steak (fillet) was simply fantastic, perfectly cooked, tender, i almost regret getting a sauce.

Great value for money as well, i'll certainly consider here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfire also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Wildfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.