We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildfire

Wildfire
192 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AZ, Scotland (New Town)
0131 225 3636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited this restaurant for lunch on a fairly quiet Friday afternoon. My friends had recommended that we try wildfire out as they had raved about it.
We were not disappointed. The lunch menu of 2 courses for £13.95 offered great value, and my Sea Bream was melt in the mouth stuff. A small, but beautifully decorated restaurant. We will not hesitate to return.
The service was also very very good, and they offer a very good wine list. High recommended!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    226
    54
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“6 Nations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

An off the cuff meal on the walk home from the game. The front of house staff couldn't of been more welcoming.
My lamb shank was the best I have ever eaten and my wife's steak sublime.
Worth a visit but book. The front of house staff had to turn away at least 16 requests for tables

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but Perfectly Formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Friendly service, excellent, hearty food distinguishes this small restaurant on Rose Street from the crowd. A good list of whiskies and a fine cheeseboard capped off a tasty meal of Steak and Ale casserole and Fisherman's Pie. Well cooked food, friendly staff and a warm welcome on a day of high winds and heavy snow! Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“YES YES YES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Defiantly worth the trip guys, would recommend giving them a phone before you head up to wildfire due to being very small. Really enjoyed my fillet steak, cooked to perfection. Thanks we shall return

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Excellent little restaurant must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Simply.... Pâté awesome, simple but tasty, served quickly. Mains... Fish pie and also fillet steak. Fish pie divine, very homemade feel. Fillet steak a lovely piece of meat, ordered medium arrived well done which was a shame but forgiven based on the fact that it was a quality piece of meat and we loved the atmosphere!

Tiny 1 room restaurant,roughly 28 seated but has a nice warm feel. Very good overall, well worth it's trip advisor reputation and score. We went here purely based pun the reviews and we were not disappointed. Service slowed after main course which was a slight shame but otherwise good.

Middle range price completely fair for the quality.

Dessert sticky toffee pud to die for. Cheesecake lovely. Good simple quality food in a good simple setting. Perfect. Thank you wildfire!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfire also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Wildfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.