We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millers 64

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millers 64
Save
You added Millers 64 to your Saves list
64 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Millers64 for two nights. We stayed in The Garden Suite which (not surprisingly) overlooks the garden. It is a good sized, nicely decorated room with a very comfortable king sized bed. The bed linen is clean and fresh. The room has a couple of armchairs and is equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. Tea, coffee and milk are provided alongside some shortbread. The en suite bathroom is spacious with both a separate bath and shower cubicle.

Breakfast is served until 10am and provides a good menu of cooked options. These must be selected by 9pm the evening before. The cooked breakfasts we ate were delicious - scrambled egg with smoked salmon. There is plenty of toast with nice honey or jam available. There was also a yoghurt or fruit compote on offer to us too. Tea, coffee and fresh juice are provided as expected.

The house itself is lovely and the welcome friendly. Guests are provided with keys and there is a wealth of local information available. Parking on the street is free but it is busy. There is a bus stop right outside the house and buses into the city centre are frequent. A walk into the centre takes around 20 minutes and a taxi costs about £6.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite shares the hallway landing with The Park Suite. The Sky Suite is the only room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
76
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a most lovely B&B. The house is beautiful and stylishly decorated. You can tell that the owners have put in a lot of thoughts and effort into making this the perfect home away from home for whoever comes to stay with them.

The Sky suite we had is absolutely wonderful with a spacious, bright and modern on-suite bathroom. Other than the usual tea and coffee, there was a jar of delicious cookies and a small packet of scottish toffee there to greet us. How sweet and thoughtful! Love that rubber duckie in the bathroom that was dressed up as a mermaid, too!

Breakfast is scrumptious! The only regret is that we did not have enough time in Scotland to stay longer at this gem. Will surely return if we ever make our way back to Edinburg. In fact, we might just visit Edinburg again just so that we can stay at this B&B again!

Samson & Jo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at Millers 64, and will absolutely return.

The room was spacious, and like the whole B&B was furnished to a very high standard. The touches such as the photos of the owners' travels and family, the gorgeous china tea cups (and nice selection of tea) in the room, and the tasteful decor made us feel at home (also kudos on the fluffy towels).

The breakfast was in the sun-lit front room (even during the 2012/13 winter that doesn't want to end), and cooked very well. The home made bread and fruit buns were delicious, and the provision of Vegemite made this antipodean very happy.

The hosts were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about Edinburgh, with some great tips on what to visit, where to drink and where to eat. Their restaurant suggestions in particular were spot on.

With the bus stop to the city on the door step (or a 15 minute walk if you need to clear your head after a few 'wee' drams), the location is fantastic for exploring Edinburgh.

Heartily recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden suite and can recommend highly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you're looking for a comfortable, welcoming and stylish space to stay in Edinburgh, then I can't recommend Millers 64 highly enough.
My room was decorated to a very high standard with everything you need to make a home away from home, and the most amazingly comfortable bed. The little details, like a robe in the wardrobe and the freshly baked shortbreads & guest Wifi make a real difference.
The breakfast was awesome, with a range of delicious choices, and lots of home made extras, and the location is excellent - just outside of the city centre off Leith Walk.
My hosts were knowledgeable and very accomodating, and I was just sorry that my three days with them passed so quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

There was a great 2 nights for 1 offer on when we went. A really nice place to stay. Well located in Edinburgh with a friendly and helpful host. We arrived much earlier than we thought but she didnt mind and was very welcoming. A very nice spacioius room, a large and comfortable bed and bathroom that was clean with good bath and seperate shower. Breakfast is extra but was worth it.

Room Tip: We were in the garden suit which was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Edinburgh (one of my favourite cities) and he couldn't have picked a better B&B. We stayed in the Park suite, a large stylish room with a fantastic shower and bath (complete with princess rubber ducky) en suite. The rest of the house was a real 'home from home' and there were little touches everywhere that made you feel like you were really staying somewhere special (like the childhood photos of the owners, or the cute little china tea cups in the room) Louise made us feel very welcome and we were absolutely ruined when it came to sampling the 'Full Scottish' breakfast. Even my fussy vegetarian palette was catered for. Millers 64 was about a 15 minute walk from the train station (and city centre) or approx £7 in a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at this amazing B&B this was our second stay and I cant fault it. Great room and wonderful bathroom lovely bedding and large fluffy towels, we were in Park suite. The host Louise is very weloming and informative. We are vegetarian so the wide choice of vegetarian breakfasts was great we saw the meat options being served they looked just as good. A stay here is a little bit of luxury we will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millers 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers 64

Address: 64 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh, Millers64 offers unique bed and breakfast accommodation in an extensively upgraded beautiful Victorian house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millers 64 Hotel Edinburgh
Millers 64 Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millers 64, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.