We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prince Gastronome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse

Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
75 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Prince Gastronome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Considering that Trip Advisor is the source of a majority of my readers, I figured I should expand my reviews and include other locations like hotels and tourist attractions. If one is nitpicking my mission statement, I’ll argue that breakfast is included every morning.
Why did I select Mayfield? It was the closest B&B to my girlfriend’s house. It also helped that it was also one of the cheapest B&B’s in town...at least when I excluded ones with shared bathrooms. My trip was on a limited budget and I was willing to forgive a lot. Scottish B&B’s are an unconventional sort, to put it mildly. The houses are small, packed tight with other like buildings, barely holding eight rooms at best. Single-bed rooms are generally miniscule, and I have no problem with this. I could never understand this appeal of some to dump so much money on a hotel. As long as it’s safe and in a good location, why would I need anything more? Like room service, why would I ever require room service? Why give me a reason to stay inside? If I wanted to do that, I wouldn’t have gone on vacation in the first place. I’d just stay home. So all I need is a bedroom, a bathroom, and enough space to drop my luggage. It also helps if the bed is big enough to fit me outstretched.
Mayfield measures up because for the price ($523 for ten days), I got a roof over my head, a queen-sized bed, a TV, a tray of tea and coffees, and a bathroom. The same key which opened my room also opened the outside door, unlike other places which practically enforce a curfew. However, I must be up front with some elements worthy of alarm. For one, I slammed my head on the roof at least three times given that it was slanted over the bed. Two, the shower is so small, that I had to enter it sideways and if I was still obese like when I was a teenager, I wouldn’t have been able to fit in at all. Three, despite making the bed during my absence, they never changed the sheets.
Don’t ask me how I know that; I just do.
Four, the breakfasts had a lot to be desired. I had been hoping for a traditional Scottish breakfast, but what I got was clearly and unmistakably English. No haggis. No black pudding. I got a spoon of hot beans, an inconsistently poached egg, a single link of sausage, a single strip of bacon, and a handful of toast. The only saving grace was that it was part of the stay and precluded my need to buy breakfast on my own.
Five, it got cold. I had arrived in Edinburgh the last week of November, but that doesn’t mean I should awake to a bathroom cold enough to freeze the balls off a brass monkey (It’s a nautical term; I’m sure I’ve used it before). I had to leave the door open to prevent sub-zero temperatures when I tried to shower. This forced my little radiator to work overtime as heat bled through the badly constructed glass windows in the bathroom.
Would I return? Of course...as stated, it’s the closest B&B to my girlfriend’s house. And there are other reasons. Across the street is a bus-stop, and every 30 minutes, the #42 bus will take you right to the heart of the city, past several noteworthy tourist hot spots. Mayfield is a 40 minute walk to Edinburgh castle and, if you walk the opposite direction, a 40 minutes’ walk to Craigmiller castle—a fact I discovered two days before I had to return. Only in Scotland can you take a shortcut through a park and find a castle.

Recommendation: 2.5/5

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
15
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've stayed in Edinburgh 14 times - two of them at Mayfield Lodge. I think of it as my home and I have "my" special room. Kenny acts as if every guest is his best friend and he is glad to see us. Breakfast is delicious - just what you want and cooked perfectly. The back garden is friendly and available if you feel lazy. If you want to go sightseeing or shopping the bus is just across the street. I can't wait to get back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Being now a more frequent customer to Mayfield lodge, it feels always great when you arrive and Kenny recognises me us on arrival. The house is " Home away from Home" it is warm and welcoming our room was spacious room 3' and with a lovely garden view. Very quiet and we had great nights of sleep.
The local Pubs in the near walking distance are a plus, " the old Bell, very cosy and great Ales, fabulous Restaurant above," the new Bell, Italian cuisine with new owners, reasonably priced as well, Kenny has the menus of a few restaurants available, so one can choose before going.
My friend has a gluten free diet which Kenny remembered and was well catered for,
Great job Kenny and thanks for your hospitality, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear always the best. Very quiet.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in June, the place is in a very quiet neighborhood which guarantees a great sleep. There is parking place within the premises which was great for us. City center is very close so you can take the bus and be in the Royal Mile in 10 minutes or 5 by taxi. The place is very cozy, it has a lounge where you can watch movies, read, listen to music. Our family room was spacious enough, spotless and every detail taken care of. You have to decide what would you have for breakfast the night before, the breakfast is huge and very, very, very good. We enjoyed every meal we had here and didn´t feel hungry until dinner time. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm a bit shocked to read a few of these awful comments about this bed and breakfast. It seems as if people seem to forget that this is a B&B and not a 5-star-rated hotel, so if you want all the luxury you should apply there. Warm and cosy and a very welcoming. No complaints. I'd go back again any time - in fact I plan to in the spring!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this B&B is good if you don't want to be right in the centre of things in Edinburgh but want easy access. On arrival I found that the host was a bit quirky and too chatty, when I just wanted to get to my room and settle. I didn't want to offend but he wasn't picking up on the hint. My room was average and pleasant décor wise, nothing special and a bit overpriced. More attention could have been given to the cleaning, especially of the ensuite but it wasn't digusting. Slight smell of damp in the room. In the morning there was no choice given regarding the cooked breakfast, it just came out as standard but there was a selection of cereal.

I wouldn't stay here again, when I've stayed in Edinburgh before I've had better quality for less. I think Mayfield needs to pay more attention to basics for like hygiene and the host could be friendly without being off-putting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well what can I say, Mayfield Lodge is excellent. Great location close to the heart of Edinburgh (10mins on the number 42 bus which stops right outside the b&b). We needed somewhere to stay for 3 nights as we were going to the 2013 British Open at Muirfield which was about a 25min drive away. We didn’t encounter any issues at all, the rooms were clean and well equipped, wifi throughout, cable TV, the twin room we were in was very spacious, the breakfast was spot on, can have pretty much whatever you want, cereal, toast/bagel/crumpets, full English etc Kenny the host was great and really made us feel at home. If I was ever heading up to Edinburgh again id definitely stay there:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 75 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.