We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Old Fishmarket Close, direct on the famous Royal Mile street!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Giles Apartments to your Saves list
St Giles Apartments
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“At Old Fishmarket Close, direct on the famous Royal Mile street!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had a great surprise when we discovered that the apartment we´ve rent in Edinburgh was situated on a street that goes directly on the Royal Mile Street, the famous and most fantastic street of Edinburgh! And we had the luck that during our stay the famous "Fringe" festival was taking place there! Amazing! From morning to late night there were a lot of events and programms there to enjoy, we could watch theatres, plays, parades, etc. We had so much fun!
The apartment was big and very comfortable, we really recommend it. There were 2 Bedrooms, a big kitchen with everything we need there, 2 bathrooms, 1 dining room and 1 living room. The shower was no big deal, but everything was fine to us. I just must say that the Old Fishmarket Close is a narrow small street with a huge descending part, and the cab cannot go down there, so you´ll need to have some skills to drive your lugagges downhill and uphill when you check out.
Although the apartment is very near to the Royal Mile, we heard no noises at night, we could sleep well and comfortable. I recommend it specially when you are in 4 people, the price worths the investiment.
P.S.: It is not a Hotel, so don´t expect them to change your towels or sheets everyday! It is really an apartment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    47
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
57
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

On arrival for several days at the fringe festival this place seemed great. Fantastic location, nice furnishings (which one would expect for £200 per night).

I don't recommend these apartments though. Our hot water wasn't working, which we discovered on the first morning. The shower was freezing and the hot water tank isn't big enough to fill one warm bath, let alone two. We called the owner, who came up and said that he'd get a plumber out.

We returned late that night to find that we had no hot water whatsoever! God knows what the plumber had done, if indeed a plumber had ever been called. We rang the emergency mobile number provided and were assured that a handyman would visit at 10 am. We missed two shows whilst we hung around in the apartment waiting for the handyman to finish. When he left, we discovered that the shower dial had been forced such that it only disgorged scorching hot water, which would have burned anybody standing beneath it. It soon exhausted the hot water tank. Cue second morning of cold showers. We were furious. We called the office AGAIN and asked that our hot water be fixed. Nobody came.

It spoiled our trip because it took away any sort of spontaneity. We were really annoyed at the owner's inaction; the aim of the trip was relaxation and we didn't get much of that. Constantly ringing the apartments' office and taking cold showers is not restful.

Also, you only get one big towel and one small towel each, which they expect you to use for the duration of your stay. How hard would it be to change them when you're charging £200 a night?

We'd warned the staff that we'd be looking for recompense from the owner of the apartment for the problems with the water (as with many of these arrangements, they make you pay in advance before they release the key). We waited in the office on our check-out morning for the owner, who finally appeared with very ill grace. We very reasonably asked for a discount on the cost of our accommodation since we'd been unable to take a warn shower or bath during our three night stay. The owner said that we'd have to take it up with his plumber!!!! He also accused us of breaking the shower ourselves, which was nonsense. We told him that he'd breached an implied term of his contract with us and that our remedy, if he refused to negotiate with us, would be to dispute the VISA transaction. He said that there would be no refund because of "the attitude you're showing"!!

The owner is a thoroughly unpleasant man and we felt quite intimidated by him. OK, the apartments are nice and well located, but these people aren't professional and don't know the first thing about customer service. AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We travelled to Edinburgh in Jul 2010 - I booked St Giles Apts - but we ended up in Avocates Apartments
we arrived late around 11pm - this was not an issue as we had let them know in advance & the company had left keys in a secure location for us
would recommend getting a taxi from the Airport as we did though - if we had not I think we would have been a little lost as the entrance is in one of Edinburgh's closes
We were allocated an apartment in Advocates close overlooking princes street -
the apratment was over two floors - with 2 double bedrooms & bathroom on the lower level and a good kitchen and lovely lounge on upper level
This suited our family well - but I would mention that it was up 1 flight of stairs to lower level and stairs in apartment were steep enough - not a problem for us & 2 teenage boys but would think carefully if you had small children or were less mobile
We arived late at night after a delayed flight and were delighted to find Tea , Coffee Sugar, Milk & even orange Juice & bottled waterleft for us - very welcoming. The Apartment was very clean and well furnished
Lovely views from the lounge over Advocates close & down to Princes St
Overall would I recommend these appartments

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We booked with Apartments Edinburgh (http://www.apts-edinburgh.co.uk/) through Lastminute (about 6 months in advance) having read the great reviews on here about large spacious rooms etc etc.

On booking we received an email confirming that it was an Apartment in Old Fishmarket, so emailed to check that booking was correct and was assured that Fishmarket was as good as St Giles.

Either all the St Giles reviewers are wrong OR Fishmarket is far inferior.
1) The bedrooms were so small that you had to physically move the bed to shut the door about 1ft of floor space on all sides.
2) No rails or hooks to hang bathroom towels on, so had to hang over backs of dining room chairs to dry.
3) Food on the floor on arrival under dining table
4) Boiler between the rooms very noisy from 11pm
5) Can hear the occupants of the flat above when they used their bathroom.
6) Windows could only be opened a couple of inches and even with all of them open the place was boiling hot all night (and it was cold & wet during the day)
7) The alleyway outside was used for ghost tours til 2am so every 30 minutes a noisy crowd came past and stopped for a story on the steps below - I would assume no worse than anywhere else just off the Royal Mile in peak tourist season though.

For £458 for 3 midweek nights we were expecting a high end apartment, we could have booked the Radisson nearby for that cost.

On the positive side, for a tourist trip it is a perfect location halfway along the Royal Mile and not too far from Waverly Station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The apartment was up a couple of flights of stairs, but the 3-bedroom apartment was huge and nicely decorated. We looked directly out on the Royal Mile across and just uphill from St. Giles Cathedral. Beautiful!

Check-in was easy. Tons of space. A little bit noisy in the early morning hours, but being on the Royal Mile, I would expect that. Just be certain to ask about the hot water heater. It's a bit tricky. Overall, nice place to stay, and I would stay there again, especially for a few days rather than just one night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed in St Giles 1 overlooking St Giles Cathedral on the Royal Mile for 6 nights over Christmas 2009 and it was the highligh of our trip. The apartment is beautiful and well equipped with excellent appliances and linen (a microwave would be useful). We enjoyed having a washing machine and dryer as well. The heating in December worked well. We can definitely recommend it for comfort, location and value for money. It really is a wondeful gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The apartments are located on the Royal Mile, overlooking St Giles Cathedral,. Would recommend these apartment to everyone apart from elderly or disabled person due to the stairs that your have to climb up to reach the apartments, they are equpped with all kitchen applinaces including dishwasher and washing machine, we all had a great stay in Edinburgh which was for one of our party running the marathon last Sunday. Well worth every penny, would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.