We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Giles Apartments to your Saves list
St Giles Apartments
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My other half phoned me one day while I was at work and said he had booked here for a short break , after seeing the pictures I thought it would be to good to be true !!!

We arrived in Edinburgh lovely sun found the apartment rather easily the staff were very welcoming ! First told us about the room , and some places local to get food and.supplies from ( Tesco Express about 5-10 minute walk ) and also directed us to the news shop next door, for any bits and bobs , even noted out where we were on a map and a few sights which was so helpful !

He showed us around the room and how to do the water and heating even left us some water , orange juice, tea bags , coffee, sugar etc !

Had a wonderful stay and really wanting to stop there next year !!! Hated leaving !!! The only small thing we could complain about was the can opener was on its way out! and I'm sure if we had mentioned it they qould replace it then and there!

Can't wait for next year !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    47
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
57
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location, just off the "Royal Mile", and so easy walking distance from the station, shops, and only 2 mins from the National Museum. Close to student area which has some good, reasonable restaurants.

The apartment is well equipped, with a good kitchen....although it needs a corkscrew and tin opener.
Great to see washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and sponges provided. Plenty of (noisy) hot water.


Area was noisy, especially on Saturday night....windows are badly fitted, however not that bad given so central.

Very surprised there is no WiFi, this is needed!

We would definitely stay again, but for the beds...they were terrible! You could feel each and every spring in the mattress (a simple mattress protector would resolve?) added to which every time you breathed the bed squeaked. We did not sleep well which is so disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Well i do admit, the outside isnt the most appealing, but the interior certainly makes up for it. Modern and clean and warm and cosy. There was only one problem, there was some sort of heating/water heating device in the wardrobe, and when it was on, it was really difficult to sleep due to its loud noise, eventually, we figured out which control to turn it off, and had a magnificent sleep for the rest of the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

this was the first apartment we had stayed at,and was something i wanted to check out for future stays in the capital without the children.what i would say,is that it was a great experience and for a little more money than a decent hotel,we had the whole apartment to ourselves.very comfy beds and all you would need to enjoy a self catering break with family or friends.i will definately be going back to use these apartments from st giles,though ours was very central,but very quite,which was perfect for a family break,the staff were great and also advised they had apartments on the royal mile,this is what i will be doing next time i stay down in edinburgh or wherever else they have these lovely apartments.loads to do and see and what better than to be able to move around ,rather than be stuck in a one room hotel.well done st giles,i loved the visit and will be back again.thank you also for the warm and friendly welcome on my arrival at your office to collect the keys,they could not do enough for me.

Room Tip: if you want quite,go off the royal mile with your apartment,we will be getting one on the royal mile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to st giles apts. They are very good apartments. Great for bars and restaurants etc. First time we stayed we were at back of building which was very quiet. This time we were at front facing st giles cathedral and hate to say it as love these apartments but the noise was terrible all night. Agree with previous reviews double glazing/sound proofing is a necessity. However I would still go back but will take ear plugs lol. 3 bed apartments are good size and are well equipped. Also mice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

It was a middle aged lads weekend so we wanted more space than hotel room and tried this for a change. We thought we were getting st giles but stayed in old fishmarket. Big difference but it was still a great place. No views but it was great to relax on Sunday and read paper in comfort . Well furnished and great location. Lovely and helpful in office

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

no need to mention, that Edinburgh is one of the most beautiful cities in Europe.
St. Giles Apt. are in the very centre of the Old City, near to everything on foot, I had apt nr 1, it was absolutely fantastic, I will go there again when I am in Scotland, possibly on holiday with my wife and friends !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.