We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms, but a little noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panda Villa

Panda Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Panda Villa to your Saves list
Panda Villa
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   12 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and rooms, but a little noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and the room was great - large with a large bathroom and really clean. The breakfast was nice too and we had nothing to complain about, until we spent one night listening to someone playing guitar and violin(?) until past midnight in what sounded like the room next to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

While the location may not be the best if you would like to check out the city center, regardless it is in a pretty convenient location overall (e.g. Holyrood park is close by - 10 minutes walk).

The room sizes could be a bit bigger (even though we had our own bathroom), on the other hand it is clean and welcoming.

Breakfast was nice with different selections (cooked or continental and more...).

Summa summarum, the place is a nice option, especially with the very friendly owner, with whom we had some great discussions.

Thanks!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

When I travel I choose hotels first by location, and then by price and quality. My Dad booked the Panda Villa B&B for our trip to Edinburgh for two nights in August, 2013 and I was a little worried about its location outside of the city centre. My worries were for naught. Several bus routes stop just down the block, allowing you to easily get around Edinburgh with a bus literally every 15-20 minutes. It's also a straight shot down either of two major boulevards to the city centre by foot - a 25-30 minute walk that's really pleasant in good weather. Arthur's Seat, an extinct volcano, is in easy walking distance and affords a great view of the city if you can manage a 40-minute hike.

The Panda Villa itself offers free Wi-Fi and the room and shared bathroom were clean (some other rooms have en suite facilities, but our room came with a shared bathroom.) The shared bath was very clean and very spacious. The breakfast room was warm and inviting, and the breakfast itself was good but uninspired.

Others have commented on the decor of the place -- it is a little busy with Eastern-inspired art and nicknacks, but cleanliness counts to me, not decor. The room itself was clean and well-appointed, had a tea/coffee set-up, a helpful laminated map of Edinburgh, and even a plug adapter to borrow in the event you needed one. The B&B offers a DVD collection and a whole bunch of books to peruse. The host was pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive.

I was overall pleased with this B&B, and I would stay here again. The Panda Villa is a good mix of location, quality and value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent two nights at Panda Villa during our UK trip and were very much pleased. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly, shown to a very nice room and allowed to settle in. We quickly discovered the Panda Villa is very convenient to the bus line and to Arthur's Seat (an extinct volcano less than a half mile away that makes for an excellent if tiring climb). We climbed Arthur's seat the first afternoon, and had a very nice breakfast both mornings we were there. The easy bus access got us into the heart of Edinburgh for the Castle, the Edge Festival, the Royal Mile, and the Military Tattoo. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely few days staying here. We were in the Buddha room. Might not suit everybody as the bed is actually a sofa bed, but we loved it. The library of books, dvds and interesting bits and bobs have made me bow never to stay in a premier inn type place again. Martin was very hospitable, in an understated way. Breakfast was good, place was clean. We slept really well thanks to the big light-blocking shutters and quiet location. Will definitely stay there again next time we're in edinburgh :)))

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Martin the host is very welcoming, he attends to all of your needs in a warm and respectful manner. He gives you all the information you need about Edinburgh.

Panda Villa is almost like a spiritual retreat with lots of interesting art-work, loads of books to read and a huge collection of DVDs.
The rooms are clean, the bathroom is too and the cooked breakfast is guaranteed to fill you up until lunch. The atmosphere is that of a welcoming home.

All the main bus routes are nearby and staying on this side of Edinburgh is now a must for me; because of the lovely old buildings it's such a lovely walk or ride in.

I would definitely go back... oh and check out the unique optional extras.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fgura
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The owner was very friendly and he makes you feel at home , we stayed for 2 nights as we wanted to visit Edimburgh and the area, if you are not expecting too much this B&B will do fine Good breakfast , Clean Room and you park in the Street,
You get some WiFi in the room too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panda Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panda Villa

Address: 12 Kilmaurs Road, Edinburgh EH16 5DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Panda Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Panda Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panda Villa Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panda Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.