We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, very comfortable, friendly and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glenisala

The Glenisala
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenisala
Save
You added The Glenisala to your Saves list
12 Lygon Road, Edinburgh EH16 5QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money, very comfortable, friendly and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed at the Glenisla for 3nights and had a fantastic stay. The room was very clean and spacious with a generous supply of bottled water, tea and coffee, and even shortbread!

The breakfast was one of the highlights though, full Scottish breakfast at its best, and I can say this having had this sort of breakfast at numerous hotels in all different cities in Scotland! The Glenisla gave the full Scottish cooked breakfast the credit it deserves, by even including the traditional Scottish haggis in the breakfast, whereas a lot of hotels, b&bs and such like do not! This certainly set my friends and I up for the day ahead.

As for during the day, we spent a lot of time in the city centre e.g. visiting Edinburgh castle. The Glenisla was the perfect location as there was a bus stop at the bottom of the road of the hotel (less than a minutes walk away) that took us right into the main road of Edinburgh - Princes Street (the city centre). This bus was very cheap and only took around 10mins to get into the city centre.
It was great being able to come away from the hustle and bustle of the busy Princes St (with all the great shops etc) back to the quiet and cosy Glenisla, yet it still being so close to the centre.

The only reason I have given 4/5 for the rooms is because the room we stayed in was not en suite and we had to share a bathroom with fellow guests. However, this was our choice as we did not mind sharing the bathroom (which by the way was very clean and we did not have to wait long to use it) because we wanted as cheap a stay as possible!

All in all a great little b&b, the staff couldn't have done more to help with directions etc and compliments to the chef for the breakfast and cleaner!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you very much
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

everything about this B&B was lovely.
As many of the other reviews have said, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All guests were made to feel extremly welcome.
Even though not all the rooms have been redecorated, they are all gorgeous, very homely and cosy. Sleep quality was amazing. Very comfy beds!
The cooked breakfast was top quality. The staff allowed you to choose what stuff you wanted, and you got loads of it. So filling! Really hit the spot after a night out!!
The entire place was very clean and tidy aswell.
I was informed that the B&B was under management, what ever they are doing, they are doing it right!
Well done.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Very much appreciated
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Glenisla is situated in a quiet residential street with free parking available. The ensuite bedroom was small but well furnished and immaculately clean. Full Scottish breakfast was perfect and the service was excellent.The Glenisla is a 40 minute walk from the bustling centre of Edinburgh or there is a good local bus service. Good pub food / restaurant can be found near to the hotel. This is a warm and friendly hotel and very good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I was in Edinburgh visiting a friend and was recommended this Guest House.

Set in a beautiful residential area but close to puplic transport and a stunning building.

I believe this Guest House is now under new owners and very nice and helpfull they were. My 3 year old daughter was given lots of attention.

Our room was very comfortable and very clean. Had a very good nights sleep.

The room was supplied with plenty of water, coffee, shortbread, towels etc.

Lovely breakfast.....especially the haggis.

Will be back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you.
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

This is a lovely hotel, situated a short bus ride form the city. 2 friends and I stayed here for the May bank holiday. We were made to feel immeadiately welcome, the staff were friendly and helpful, showed proper interest in helping us to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

The rooms was lovely, great old fashioned decor, but all very clean. Great breakfast served by very attentative staff. We would definately stay again and I would recommend it as great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Stayed at The Glenisla Hotel for a mothers day visit to Edinburgh. This recently refurbished hotel which is under new management, offers superb value for money. Staff were welcoming and the hotel had a very relaxed feel to it The room was clean and comfortable with complimentary tea,coffee,water and a selection of biscuits.

The staff were extremely helpful with directions into the city centre ( ten minute bus ride) and suggestions for places to eat - nothing was too much trouble for them.

Breakfast is not to be missed at this hotel. The cooked breakfast was generous in portions and well cooked. There was also a good selection of cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts.

Would definately go back to the Glenisla

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigton, Manager at The Glenisala, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Very much appreciated
Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glenisala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenisala

Address: 12 Lygon Road, Edinburgh EH16 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome always awaits our guests at The Glenisla guest house and bed and breakfast, and it will be our pleasure to ensure that you have a memorable stay in Edinburgh. Situated in the leafy suburbs of historic Edinburgh, our guest house offers a great bed & breakfast and a convenient place to stay while touring the beautiful city of Edinburgh. While in Edinburgh we wish to ensure you have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and receive the highest standards of care and attention possible of any bed and breakfast or guest house. Our bed and breakfast is housed in one of Edinburgh’s 19th-century Georgian buildings, retaining its traditional appearance with some wonderful original cornices, elegant high ceilings and stained glass windows with attractive gardens to the front and rear, a truly serene setting for bed and breakfast in Edinburgh. We are a small (9 bedrooms) family run bed & breakfast. Our guest house is located in a peaceful and beautiful conservation area of Edinburgh, yet only minutes by bus or taxi from Edinburgh city centre. Edinburgh University's Kings Buildings are just a stone's throw away, so The Glenisla guest house is a great place to stay if you are in Edinburgh for an Open Day or Residential Week at the University, or if you are a visiting lecturer or a student undertaking a research project.We are also only a short distance from the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary and can boast ample free parking (both on-street and off-street) as well as free Wi-Fi in all rooms so The Glenisla guest house is perfect for those visiting Edinburgh on business as well as pleasure.Our bed and breakfast package is the ideal way to start your working or touring day in Edinburgh and you can be sure of a warm welcome during your visit to our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Glenisala Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glenisala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.