We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promt Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Thai

Spirit of Thai
44 Grindlay Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AP, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
0131 228 9333
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Scotland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Promt Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had tried to eat at this restaurant before but on that occasion they were full. This time we were luckier. We visited on a Wednesday lunchtime and it was busy. We ate from the set lunch menu. The service was prompt and full of smiles. The food was delivered to the table pipping hot and very tasty with a real thai depth of flavour. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Spirit of Thai for years now. It is by far the best Thai restaurant in Scotland, and it never disappoints. The food is excellent, and the staff are always attentive and friendly. The banquet set menu offers exceptional value for money, and we almost always go for this. We always try to eat here if we're in Edinburgh, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was in Edinburgh with a group of friends for the Scotland v Wales Six Nations Rugby Match, we came across this restaurant by accident when we were out walking before the game, we booked a table for Saturday evening after the match. Location very central, small intimate atmosphere, great food, value for money, genuine faultless service, we all agreed an excellent choice. I will definitely go again when in Edinburgh in the future. Unfortunately from a Scottish perspective I cannot say the same for the Rugby Match which did not live up to the billing ! still the smashing meal and banter we had afterwards helped ease the pain.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Two of us shared the sampler starter platter - the deep fried prawn dish was delicious, the chicken satay was sublime... these were only the stand-outs, the other items were delicious as well. Diner #3 had the tom yum gai (Thai mushroom soup - sorry if I've got the name wrong), which was delicate and well-balanced in flavour, and proper comfort food. For our main courses - whole sea bass with two different sauces (and a lovely mixed salad); red curry monkfish (off the bone); and a veg Thai curry - which involved deep fried tofu (the only tofu which I've ever actually enjoyed). We were all pleasantly full after two courses and didn't need dessert, so had a couple of liqueurs/brandies each. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Food arrived seemingly within minutes of being ordered, but not so quickly that was worrying! Very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Thai Orchid is a fantastic little restaurant that seems to follow the very basic principle all restaurants should follow of using very good ingredients and cooking them well. Coupled with excellent service and a decent sized and varied menu I would strongly recommend a visit, I love Thai food and this is one of the better Thai meals I have had in the UK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Thai also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Spirit of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.