We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodney Street Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodney Street Apartments to your Saves list
Rodney Street Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   32 Rodney Street, Edinburgh EH7 4DX, Scotland (Stockbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
1 review
“Clean and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This was a great find, near centre for walking, everything you will need in apartment. very clean and neatly furnished. would highly recommend for anyone who knows Edinburgh well and enjoys putting their feet up at the end if a days shopping in comfy surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice place to stay. It comes with a convenient price and it is not far from the center of the city. A lot of local shops are really close and bus stations are right outside the building. Finally it is really close to the tram station and about 20 min walk from the central train station.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Very nice apartment with everything we needed!
The apartment are simple but comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped (in particular the kitchen) . It's close to the city center, just 15-20 minute walk.
Tesco supermarket is in 5 min wall!
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed in apartment 3 on the first floor. The apartment was clean and tidy, the kitchen was well stocked with utensils although the fridge leaked and there was no door on the freezer compartment. A nice touch was a kitchen pack of washing up liquid,cloth and tea towel, there was also tea, coffee and sugar plus some pots of milk in the fridge. The kitchen had seen better days but it was ample for our needs. The bathroom again was a little tired and the electric shower was a bit slow but was always nice and warm. We found the beds very comfortable although the double is 2 singles put together, this meant the quilt was a little small but we had 2 really good nights sleep.
The real down side in my opinion is the wooden floors throughout, I know it's easier for cleaning but it was impossible for 2 adults and 2 teenagers to walk around quietly, I did feel for anyone under our apartment. Maybe if the apartment had curtains it might stop the hollow sound every time anyone walked from one room to another?
Overall a great location and nice apartment for a weekend.
I would really recommend a visit to the zoo, a great day out but very hilly.

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs ask for 1st floor and take slippers as the wooden floors are cold.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DH1310, Reservations at Rodney Street Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for providing some feedback on your recent stay

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and I have passed on your comments to our management and maintenance team to action

Kind regards
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

On first approaching the apartment it looked a little run down and tired. However, once in the apartment, it was clean and tidy, and has everything you could need for an enjoyable stay in the city. There were a couple of minor issues in the apartment which I have fed back and I'm sure that these will be resolved, like I say, these were only minor and did not affect our experience at all.

The location is great, just a 10 minute walk to the main pubs and restaurants and 15 minutes to the old town (castle.etc.)

Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DH1310, Director of Sales at Rodney Street Apartments, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to provide a review

We hope you had an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh and at our apartments and we have taken your comments on board also

hopefully see you again in the coming years.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The location is very convenient, with bus routes close by, and many good restaurants a short walk away. Also parking is plentiful. Bedrooms are small, but there is a decent size kitchen and living area.

However the unit itself needs attention. The beds are very soft and the hallway entrance to the apartment block is grimy and smells of smoke. When I raised this with their customer service, they did say it will be rectified, so it should improve in the future. The wifi was slow at times. Note that there is no dishwasher & no drier for the washing machine.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so depending on luggage ask for a room on ground or 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

We had the basement apartment and were extremely pleased with it. It was very spacious with an outdoor seating area; perfect for a family getaway. The location was pretty central; close to the shopping areas and a 5 minute walk from the station. For those who need the tram, it stop directly outside. I would really recommend York Place apartments.
The

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodney Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodney Street Apartments

Address: 32 Rodney Street, Edinburgh EH7 4DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodney Street Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Modern, light & stylish apartments. *Fully furnished with TV/DVD players *Well equipped kitchens, including washing machine facilities *All apartments contain fully made up beds & towels *Situated in a nice quiet residential courtyard setting, just off the main road *Located in the prestigious New Town area of city, near to the Royal Botanic Gardens *Princes St is a 10 min walk *5 min walk to the lively Broughton St area, with many restaurants, shops & bars *A free private car park is provided with each apartment *Free wifi provided *Large supermarket just around corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodney Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Street Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodney Street Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.