We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 23 Mayfield to your Saves list
23 Mayfield
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

enjoyed our stay at 23 Mayfield, lovely accomodation and excellent service. has to be one of the best cooked breakfasts we've ever had. a very luxurious guest house in a fantastic old victorian building, but with modern features. a friendly host Ross , full of helpfull sugestions on where to visit / eat in Edinburgh. will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
387
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautifully restored Victorian building with lots of original features, lovely luxurious feeling to the rooms, with all the mod cons you would expect in the bathrooms. Ross was a great host, very friendly and attentive with lots of good suggestions on where to eat and what to do. Off street parking was a real bonus, with only a short walk into the old town and a great Italian restaurant nearby (Positano). The breakfast has to be one of the best we've ever had in a B&B, lovely porridge and then fantastic pancakes and french toast.
Without a doubt if we are back in Edinburgh this is where we will be staying !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a lovely short stay we had at 23 Mayfield. Super clean rooms, friendly owners full of good recommendations, amazing breakfasts including haddock, Arbroath Smokies and Kippers. The hotel is in a good location just outside the centre of town and right next to Holyrood and the hill and palace. We'll be staying here again when we visit Edinburgh again and would hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a small hotel / high class B&B to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickhire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We always stay at this B&B when visiting Edinburgh, the reason is as follows. The Welcome from hosts Ross & Kathleen are always friendly and very accommodating, helping choose restaurants, places to visit or suggesting something different, nothing is too much trouble . The rooms are beautiful and decorated to a high standard so clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing so many choices, and freshly cooked, just remember to hand in your breakfast choices the night before, this helps the hosts to know what they have to cater for, then in the morning just sit back and enjoy! We also had to leave early one morning to catch a train, and handed in our breakfast choices the night before, the continental breakfast was superb, fruits, yogurts, cereals pastries, cheese, ham,croissants, juices tea & coffee etc. So I can't understand the last reviewers disappointment, unless their choices hadn't been handed in the night before. We also pay the day before or earlier, we know they will be busy with breakfasts early morning. We have also recommended many colleagues and friends who have also had an enjoyable stay at 23 Mayfield.
Congratulations to Ross & Kathleen who are expecting their child. Hope to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed all the rooms that we have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I dont normally write reviews but after reading PearLChiangmai i feel i have to!
The hosts made my stay very very comfortable and couldnt do enough to help my stay at 23 Mayfield. i was over visting family from Australia and loved every minute.
Perhaps the youg "lady" should have set her alarm and paid her bill the night before?
Anyway its a top place to stay as long as you set your alarm!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Maybe I had expected too much from this beautiful place. But I couldn't’ help it after had been staying at 4 B&B all over the UK during my vacation where I found their services were impeccable and nothing was too trouble for the hosts (see my other reviews). But it was not that at 23 Mayfield.

We informed them twice (before our arrival and upon our arrival) that on our check out date we had to leave early (exactly just 15 mins before breakfast started) to catch a train back to London and hoped to have something to eat before our 7 hours trip. We wouldn't expect a full glamorous breakfast, but at least some pastries and toast or fruit would have been nice. But we had to find whatever they had on the breakfast buffet table which practically had only dry cereal without milk and yogurt. We had to seek them out that morning in order to pay our bill. Neither of them seemed to care much of us. If I wanted this type of service, I would have just paid the same price (£104) and instead stayed at 3 star hotels in the old town to save our trouble to catch a night bus back from the city every night.

On the plus side, the breakfast is really fabulous and the property is very luxury and beautiful deserved five stars B&B, although, only 3 stars customer service for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here several years ago on my first visit to Scotland. We stayed at 23 Mayfield during our time in Edinburgh and I really enjoyed the experience. Was worth every pound and pence and then some! Everything about this B&B was excellent...the staff, our room, the food for breakfast each morning...exceptional. It was one of the most comfortable away from home stays I've had anywhere. Our room was lovely with a king bed and private bath. Ross and his staff were exceptionally friendly and made us feel at home. After our time in Edinburgh I actually missed this place and still very much want to stay here again on future visits to Edinburgh. Can't say that for any hotel! Actually we were just in Edinburgh again recently, and decided to stay in closer in to the city center, off the Royal Mile, in a chain hotel. Terrible mistake in my opinion and I lamented knowing 23 Mayfield wasn't that far up the road all warm, cozy, and personable, with those wonderful breakfasts each morning. Next time though, we shall return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23 Mayfield is a 5 Star Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,Don't forget to book direct, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have free residents parking, Club room, Hot Tub, Garden, free Wifi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 23 Mayfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.