We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luscious surroundings and wonderful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 23 Mayfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 23 Mayfield to your Saves list
23 Mayfield
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Luscious surroundings and wonderful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We could only stay two nights in Edinburgh and chose 23 Mayfield based on the other reviews here. We could not have been more pleased with our decision.
Ross is one of the most genuinely friendly people we have ever met and the fact that he was a runner up for UK's friendliest host was not at all surprising.
Our room was the Premier Jacobean, complete with beautiful antiques, 4 poster canopy bed, 17th century prints and a well appointed modern marble ensuite.
The Bose stereo was softly playing classical music when we checked into our room - now that's attention to detail!
The food at breakfast was fabulous, as was the service.
Regarding other reviews complaining about having to order food for a prescribed time the next morning - that is pretty standard throughout the UK, and elsewhere. Innkeepers do this to make sure they have the freshest food available and time breakfast so they can have a life. We've never found this to be off-putting because we are up early and ready to seize the day when travelling.
But honestly we prefer bnb's to hotels any day, and 23 Mayfield was a sumptuous delight for the senses.
Go ahead, splurge!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
386
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is an absolute gem in one of the most fascinating cities I've ever been to. Ross cannot do enough for you when you arrive and we stayed in the deluxe tudor room which was absolutely stunning. We had a fantastic time and i really recommend staying here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Everything seems wonderful in Edinburgh because we chose to live in 23 Mayfield. The proprieter Ross is extremly friendly,nice also very handsome~~ You just feel like coming back home when you got there. The furniture and facilities in the room are really of good quanlity. LED TV, telescope, Wii, hairdryer and the mirror with led lights. It exceeded our expectations. Not to mention the award winning breakfast-- looks great and tasty too. We went there from London. After catching the train in last minute( literaly,the train leaves at 11:00, we got on the train in 10:59, almost missed it!) in King's cross station, it seemed we were over excited. My friends left their bags on the taxi from Edinburgh railway station to the hotel! Their passports were in that bag which may cause major problem if we lost them. We could only ask Ross for help. He helped us to call the taxi company and gave us comfort. Only in 20 minutes, the bag were back in our hands with everything! He paid the driver for us,brought the bag upstairs and refused our offer of 50 pounds. The customers needs are their first priority. They also have a lot of returning customers as I heard the conversation between the hostess and the customers. This place impress me so deep that I would recommend it to all of my friends and wish coming back there if I can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had two night stay in this lovely b&b in Oct and we could not fault such a lovely place with friendly attentive staff lovely breakfasts lovely rooms penhaligons toiletries bath robes etc etc what more could one ask for
and extremley inexpensive for this high standard in the heart of Edinburgh
I noticed the review before saying you were asked for your order for breakfast the night before and also a time
i personally thought most b&b did this i have stayed in a hilton hotel in London where
Yes you could have a later breakfast however on a sunday morning we had to stand in a line for 20 min to get into the dinning room and then the buffet was a dried up mess by then
so i personnaly would opt for a freshly cooked breakfast atno 23 anytime with with such lovely choices, we certainly hope to return to this lovely b&b in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at 23 Mayfield in October 2011 for a brief honeymoon. We have two small children and could only manage to get away for a couple of nights, and having visited Edinburgh earlier in the year for a friends wedding we were very keen to return. We booked the Grand Jacobean room, and on arrival were just flabbergasted by the beauty and luxury of the room, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the utter yumminess of the Scottish Breakfast! So for our anniversary this year we decided to return - again only for a couple of nights, this time staying in the Premier Jacobean room ( I think we will try a different room each year...) and again it was incredible. A couple of days in comfort and luxury, lounging on a four-poster in snuggly dressing gowns and having beds made, tidying up and breakfast made by SOMEONE ELSE!! Absolute bliss for parents of a 1 and a 3 year old! Edinburgh city centre easily walking distance, but bus stop just across the road anyway. We were extremely happy with our return visit and fully intend to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

23 Mayfield is my home away from home when in Edinburgh. I stay here whenever I'm in town. Having tried some of the hotels I've found nothing in my experience beats 23 Mayfield for comfort, price, breakfast, or friendliness of hosts and care of guests. 23 Mayfield is a wonderfully restored Victorian house giving the perfect Edinburgh experience. The rooms have been fully updated so that while you get 19th century elegance in the exterior and breakfast and club rooms, you get 21st century amenities in your bathroom and bedroom. Most rooms I've stayed in had wood paneling, king size beds, gilded sconces and chandeliers with more than adequate lighting - important for my senior eyes, LCD televisions, and everything done with an eye to comfort and class.

This trip I stayed four days at 23 Mayfield and especially enjoyed the club room with its Bose music system and fire and leather couches which allowed me to really relax and wind down after shopping and sight seeing. There's a lot to be said for enjoying the luxury of doing nothing and the club room at 23 Mayfield lets you do it in style. The breakfast at 23 Mayfield has always been marvelous. My favorite remains the scrambled egss and salmon, but the pancakes have moved up a close 2nd. If you haven't tried a full Scottish breakfast, there's no better place to start than here with quality local products.

Ross, his mum, and the staff are very attentive yet not intrusive and always able to give you the latest inside information of what's happening and where the best place to eat is. The bus is really close and you can get a cab in an instant, but I recommend just walking into the city or better yet, giving Arthur's Seat a go to burn away your jet lag or travel fatigue. I really hope you'll give yourself the treat of trying out 23 Mayfield and finding your home away from home in Scotland's capital city. Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I booked this b&b as a treat for my husbands 50th birthday, and it didn't disappoint.
From the moment you walk through the door you feel at home straightaway.
The decor throughout is outstanding, so much time and thought has gone into it.
Ross who is so welcoming, and very informative, weather it's about the local bus service or a restaurant to eat, he always has time to chat and answer your queries.
The room we stayed in ( number 6) is gorgeous.
Loved the four poster bed,the chaise long,and the lovely leather armchairs.
Breakfasts are superp, fab choices, and to have it done fresh for you is great.
Will definitely return- sooner rather than later!
Thanks also to Ross for presenting my hubby with a cake for his birthday,and to all the guests that sang happy birthday to him.
Jayne and Kevin murphy

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 23 Mayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Mayfield

Address: 23 Mayfield Gardens | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 23 Mayfield 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23 Mayfield is a 5 Star Boutique Guest House built in 1868 in the Victorian era, situated just over one mile from the Royal Mile,Don't forget to book direct, on the main bus route into Edinburgh city centre. The guest house offers easy access to many places of interest such as Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, the Scottish Parliament and Princes Street, which are all within a one mile radius. We have free residents parking, Club room, Hot Tub, Garden, free Wifi, all rooms newly refurbished and are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your 23 Mayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Mayfield Hotel Edinburgh
23 Mayfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 23 Mayfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.