We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bijou

Bijou
2 Restalrig Road | Leith Links, Edinburgh, Scotland
0131-538-0664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I went to Bijou for Saturday morning brunch. The place was buzzing but the staff were very friendly and attentive. We both had eggs royale, which were delicious - really good value too. Looked at the menu for lunch and evening meals and would love to go back to try more of the dishes! Would thoroughly recommend this gem of a place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    24
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous eatery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enjoyed another wonderful evening at Bijou......, great food, chat and ambience. Thoroughly recommend it......and James is an amazing host, thanks again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have been here many times and have never been disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere just fantastic with great prices too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been going to Bijou on and off now for the last year, always popping in whenever I'm in Leith. Sometimes just for a drink and one of their freshly home baked muffins, sometimes a meal, but always for a good chat with the staff! I always feel incredibly welcome and they always seem to remember me which is lovely. Their menu changes fairly regularly, and being vegetarian, it's good to see that they don't just put the standard vegetarian cop out dishes on their menus but clearly make an effort with these dishes too. On Friday I had their beetroot and butternut squash salad which is on the new menu which had crispy root vege and fondant potato on the side. I would definitely recommend this place to any passing vegetarians, or any looking for somewhere original to try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cheeky wee place on the Links......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a wonderful wee place. The menu is varied and inventive and the choice of 3 sizes of dishes is a great idea. I have often eaten here whether is be for a full veggie breakfast, lunch or dinner the food is always excellent and beautifully prepared and presented. The staff are very friendly and chatty and most helpful. Great atmosphere and very homely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijou also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bijou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.