We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, helpful service ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamoli

Shamoli
105 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland (Old Town)
+44 131 558 1497
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 1,982 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $92
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, Vegetarian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Shamoli specialises in food from North India and Thailand - perfect for groups who are split in what kind of Asian food they would like. There are a range of Thai stir fies and also Thai curries including Chicken Panang a dish which combines coconut sweetness with with a few sparks provided by red chillis. Punjabi Lamb Korai is one of the meat based dishes from the North Indian half of the menu. Average prices are £7.95 for a set lunch, £19 for an evening meal and house wine is £13.95 a bottle. They have child friendly facilities and a takeaway service.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, helpful service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had the Thai vegetarian buffet and they let us swap one of the dishes for a sweet and sour. The sweet potato fritters and satay sauce were heavenly. Main dishes were good. One side dish had EXTREMELY hot chillis which the waiter warned us about. I thought he was exaggerating but literally thought I was going to have a heart attack when I ate a chilli: I survived and decided it was rather good so had more!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    62
    23
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I did like the food, especially the Thai. The service was pretty good too, so was the price. The food wasn't exceptional, but still worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were in the city for the day doing a bit sightseeing/shopping had seen restaurant advertising buffet menu. Decided late afternoon to have a meal. 1st impression very clean &well laid out
Staff very quick to attend to us given the option of buffet or normal menu's we chose a bit from both The starter took a wee while to arrive but was well worth the wait main course arrived soon after again food was excellent staff asked if everything ok numerous times Will certainly go back if in the city again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent Indian meal for a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm not really keen on restaurants that serve multinational cuisine but I was famished and desperate for an Indian meal. The interior is nice and the staff were attentive and polite, service was reasonably quick. The food was good and the portion generous; there was a good ambience in the Shamoli. Most of my fellow diners were Indian and Asian; which is a good indicator of appreciation of the cuisine. The menu was quite extensive with a large selection of Indian and Thai dishes, as always drinks can be a little bit pricey. Good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I don't eat Indian food but got dragged there by my friends and this restraunt has converted me!! The food was delicious, staff were so nice and to top it off a free starter was given. Food was very well priced I highly recommend this!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamoli also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Shamoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.