We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gil Dun Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gil Dun Guest House to your Saves list
Gil Dun Guest House
9 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Townsend, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Gerry and Bill were wonderful. Their B and B is clean, beautifully decorated and they aim to do one thing; make your stay easy and comfortable. Our room on the third floor was huge and had everything we needed and more. The bathroom was large and clean and the shower perfect. Our breakfast was the best of all B and B's we've stayed in, a 5 star breakfast. The early morning conversation with Gerry over breakfast and the late night chat with Bill in the dining room made the stay very special. If we are ever back in Edinburgh, we will stay here. The location, too, just perfect, great Italian restaurant around the corner, great access to a lovely hike through nearby Holyrood Park with a grand view of the town centre; all was just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    17
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
125
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Gil Dun is on a short very quiet side street off of Dalkeith Road. As a result, the well-furnished rooms are very quiet yet the location is very convenient to the bus route. It is also an easy 20 minute walk into the heart of Edinburgh, we never used the bus. Gerry and Bill are wonderful hosts. Always available to answer questions and help with arrangements. The breakfast was wonderful - an abundance of fresh fruit, muffins, and cereals followed by a hot breakfast cooked to order. We plan to stay here again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Bill welcomed 3 tired retired Texas teachers with open arms when we arrived. We had a beautiful triple ensuite on the 2nd floor. Breakfast was made to order, yummy, and plenty of it. Dining room was open 24/7 with a refrigerator for us to use. They both were so helpful about how to get around Edinburgh. What a lovely experience we had there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Found this lovely spot through Trip Advisor and Rick Steves. Couldn't have been more perfect. Location just off Dalkeith gave us a delightful stroll into town but a quiet cul de sac and a view of the garden for tranquility.
High ceilings and lovely, but not fussy, decor. Bathroom with counter space and powerful shower.
Delicious breakfast with main plate choices each morning.
And best of all, proprietors, Bill and Jerry, made us feel like family-- not just with pleasantries but with good advice on places to visit and routes to travel.
Couldn't have been more perfect. So glad we're returning here at the end of our stay in Scotland.

Room Tip: We love #3, but other rooms are inviting as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh. Gerry and Bill were the best!! They made three retired educators from Texas feel like family. The breakfast was delicious and the set-up was perfect. You could get things from the breakfast bar as you waited for your "custom" breakfast to be made. Gerry and Bill were always helpful with directions and suggestions. The B&B has a wonderful location that can get you started to almost anywhere you want to travel. The room was lovely and clean. If I ever get to return to Edinburgh, I will definitely be staying a Gil Dun again and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Warm welcome, friendly, very clean, and most importantly: A very quiet place! It's a bit off the center, but just a short bus ride or 20min walk from the city. Breakfast is very rich and also features a menu. I'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had room #1, which was on the ground floor facing towards garden. No noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Gil Dun Guest House with Bill, Maggie and the inimitable pup, Troy. It was a lovely experience-the room was beautiful, with elegant purple spreads and pillows-the room looked over a wonderful backyard garden, and it was a quiet haven after a long day of walking all around Edinburgh. Bill greeted us with a map, and easy instructions for which bus to take and how much change to have available. Maggie and Bill made lovely English breakfasts (with veggie options) as well as great recommendations for dinners that were close, and not horribly expensive. But we loved the Jack Russell terrier, Troy, perhaps best of all. We were missing our dog in the US, and Bill was sweet enough to let Troy into the guest area just briefly so that we could get our share of puppy hugs. Thanks again, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gil Dun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gil Dun Guest House

Address: 9 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet cul-de-sac within the oldest Edinburgh district of Newington, close to the city centre and walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and on a regular main bus route. Re-furbished to a high standard in 2010 whilst maintaining many traditional Victorian features. Official four star accommodation. Popular with guests from the USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places and HostelWorld so you can book your Gil Dun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gil Dun Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Gil Dun Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gil Dun Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.