We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added West End Hotel to your Saves list
West End Hotel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh EH12 5AU, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Class Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was visiting family and this location was recommended by a member of my family - not always the best recommendations come from family but on this occasion it was spot on. The location offers easy access to all Edinburgh has to offer. The décor throughout is superb, modern clean lines but fresh and well light. The property says refinement it also says attention to detail which can be seen in the rooms and décor of the entrance way. Food was very reasonable and beautifully presented - The food said value for money. Staff were all very friendly especially Jamie Lewis who went the extra mile to ensure our stay was a great success. The night was topped off by a local music duo guitar and fiddler - the standard of playing was exceptional. So I would definitely recommend this hotel - it ticks all the boxes even has a backpacker section which looks well ahead of the competition. The West End Hotel and Jamie certainly stand head and shoulders ahead of the crowd.

Room Tip: A room at the back ensure no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
23
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Good
Cooked breakfast

The Bad
No lift (elevator). I had to climb EIGHT flights of stairs each time I wanted to get to my bedroom. (This is even worse when you have to carry your suitcase up. To be fair, they did offer to help me.) So, no catering for disabled guests then.
No dedicated reception. You are expected to check in at the noisy bar. So noisy that any conversation between the reception person and you is virtually impossible.
No dinner on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays, so you are forced to go out and fend for yourself. When I stayed, we were “lucky” enough to have snow and the pavements were sheets of ice at night, so a dinner in the hotel would have been a good option.
As another reviewer on this web site has mentioned, the Aussie/Kiwi girl in the bar/reception seems to find it very difficult to smile.
A strange musty horrible smell in the bathroom, although you get used to that after a day or two.
The heating is never turned on before 6.30pm unless requested.
No heating of any kind in the bathroom.
Rooms generally have a cold feel about them.
No Room Service.


The Ugly
One evening the whole hotel had NO WATER. So I couldn’t wash my hands, brush my teeth, have a shower etc.
Due to the layout of the “hotel”, noisy banging of doors by other guests reverberated throughout the hotel. You kind of expect this when people are getting up in the morning, but at 3, 4 am?

This “hotel” seems to be more of hostel. It seems that the lower floors are dormitory type rooms with communal showers which are not en-suite. So there is a lot of movement and banging of doors at all hours. Not really conducive for a business stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get one of the rooms on the top floor. EIGHT flights of stairs is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a weekend away with the girls for my 40th birthday . I was so pleased with the kind reception we got from most friendly staff , i could not fault this hotel in anyway as it was very clean modern ,food is lovely and excellent cooked breaky,colin the manager was exceptionaly nice and made sure we were all happy . we all will defantly be back soon . Great value for your money .
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here at the end of January. We stayed in dorm accommodation and found it great value. The shard bathroom was kept nice and clean and it was good to have hair driers to use for free. My only tiny gripe would be to suggest the mattresses are flipped or the bed springs tightened as the beds we're very saggy. But the room and beds were clean and the whole place felt safe.
Although we didn't eat at the restaurant it was very nice to sit and have a drink and the staff were really helpful and lovely to chat to. I'm from Scotland and usually stay with friends in Edinburgh but I would recommend this place to friends especially due to location.

Room Tip: Take ear pugs for dorms, the beds are squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed just one night at the West End hotel on Thursday the 10th January and have to stay we enjoyed out stay. We found staff friendly and welcoming with greeting us, check in, information on location and providing a map.
Our room was a small double with ensuite and it was decorated to a high standard in modern neutral hotel decor. Room was warm even without the heating on and windows open, with underfloor heating in the ensuite. Towels provided in the bedrooms with shampoo and body wash in the shower if your require.
We felt that it was value for money as we booked through another site for £45 B&B for two people in one double room.
You can take advantage of the in house quiz run every Thursday if you wish or the 20% discount on offer for food or drinks.
I had to rush off to a meeting on the Friday so breakfast was brief for me, but it did look like the usual full breakfast. Only downside for us is the noise of the front door banging as people let it go and it woke us up at 04.30am as we presume someone returned from a night out!!
We would stay here again if we visit the capital again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My sister and I had a great time at the West End Hotel/Hostel. We booked through Hostels.com so were expecting a hostel. Turned out it was a kind of a mixure of a hotel and a hostel with some dorm rooms but not all. Ours was a very comfortable twin room on the top floor. The service was very friendly and helpful. There was no lift so our one heavy bag was carried to the top floor for us. Depsite the bar at ground level it was not over noisy; there was just a bit of a party one night. The food was good. The coffee wasn't wonderful but you don't go to Britain for good coffee. The discount at the bar was welcome. The one problem we had was with the water in the shower. It was a bit erratic - couldn't quite make it up the pipes to the top floor if there were too many people showering on the floors below. It is an excellent location - close to Haymarket Station and an easy walk to Princes Street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My mum and I travleed to Edinburgh this weekend and had a fab time, largley in part to the brill accommodation at the West End Hotel.

We were booked in quad room as they had no double left at no extra cost for the room (£50 for double, £55 for quad). We were checked in quckily arriving aroun 6,30pm on Friday and were offered help getting our bags to our rooms. We declined, not realising our room (9) was on the top floor!

The room was lovely, and very clean, with a wardrobe and various drawers and bedside tables. The ensuite is pretty small but does the job. The TV worked and had freeview channels which was nice, we chilled in the room on a couple of occassions after a full on morning of activities.

They provide towels at a £5 hire cost so if you wanna save then bring youre own, hand towels are provided for each be though. There is also body wash, soap and shampoo dispensers in the bathroom.

You get a 20% discount on food and drink at the bar downstairs which is brilliant value, and they have a pretty comprehensive range of drinks. The food menu is a little limited but lovely and the servings are large! My only criticism is that the nachos dont come with jalepenos which let them down a little...

Breakfast was included and is either a continental or full scottish/english, with sausage, bacon, black pudding, haggis, egg, mushroom, beans, tomato and hcoice of white or brown toast. Its small portions of each but plenty to start the day.

Its a great location, about a 10 min walk from the top of princes street (House of Fraser end) and there are lots of buses running along Plamerston Place if you need to get anywhere else. We got 100 airbus (runs every 10 mins) from the airport to haymarket station which is approx 30 min journey and 5 min walk from the hotel (a return ticket is £6)

If you are jumping on buses uts always useful to have the right change, a sinlge fare is generally £1.40 - as a londoner where our system is considerably diffierent I figured this would be useful to know!

Room Tip: There isnt a ton of traffic down palmerston place but they do have rooms at the back if you are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Address: 35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh EH12 5AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West End Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning City Centre B&B Edinburgh with Stylish & Comfortable Accommodation.The West End Hotel Edinburgh offers stylish, comfortable accommodation in a mixture of tastefully decorated standard and ensuite rooms in the centre of Edinburgh, close to all this magnificent city has to offer. Providing a high standard of customer service and with a great location and well equipped accommodation, the West End Hotel is an ideal choice whether you are visiting Edinburgh for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, while still in the heart of the city, just a 15 minute walk from the West End of Princes Street as well as being conveniently located withing walking distance of Edinburgh’s many tourist attractions and the city’s main business districts. It is only 5 minutes walk to one of Edinburgh's main bus routes and a 10 minute walk to Haymarket Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.