We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Cameron Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5LD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in The Cameron for one night for a family wedding. Wendy was extremely welcoming on our arrival, even letting us use her own ironing board for us to iron our outfits. The room, although not huge, was fine and had everything we needed. Wendy even gave us a lift to the wedding venue to save us taking our car which was very much appreciated. Breakfast was lovely too, it was freshly cooked and very tasty. I found this B&B via trip advisor and I would thoroughly recommend to others to stay there if they are looking for a centrally placed B&B in Edinburgh. Thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
64
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Cameron Experience was superb and started before our arrival with a friendly text message from Wendy and they gave us all the necessary directions. The welcome was warm and the room spotless. Anything you wanted was no trouble at all. Toiletries, hairdryer etc all provided, and an Ipod dock! The breakfast was great and done exactly to your requirements. We stayed two nights and felt like we were staying with friends. Wendy gave us all the information we needed for a great weekend in Edinburgh. Thank you Wendy and family, you really have something special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Wendy is a great host. She makes you feel welcome and is very helpfull. Easy access to city center by buss. Taxi back less then £8,-.
Unfortunatly not so comfy bed.
What really dissapointed us was not the stain in our towwel but the fact that after leaving them , obviously used, on the bathroomfloor they where laid out for us to use again. Please Wendy don't make this mistace again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a room for 2 nights at this family run B&B. The room was a great size, beautifully decorated and fresh linen. The ensuite was a wet room with electric shower. We had a great nights sleep in a really comfortable bed, it was quiet and the breakfast was excellent.
The B&B is on the main bus route directly into the city centre, approx 8mins on the bus or a 25-30 min walk if the weather permits. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend The Cameron.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent one night stay in a family room over the weekend. Spotlessly clean and a lovely cooked breakfast the following morning. Plenty on street parking close by and good links to the city centre. Would use again. Thank you, Wendy. The Simpson Family, Aberdeen. By the way, isn't it a nonsense that reviews on Trip Advisor have to be 200 characters minimum!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Cameron B&B!
The room was very good. Great bed- and bathroom.
The breakfast was very varied and appetizing, very much choice.
We Thank Wendy for all her hospitality and services.
I sure will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Be careful , you do not make my mistake and book Cameron guest house instead of this bed and breakfast , did not realise there were 2 Cameron in Edinburgh . Absolutely gutted as the bed and breakfast sounded amazing and the guest house was so poor I refused to stay .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Cameron Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameron Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cameron bed and breakfast is an Edinburgh family run bed and breakfast. We are situated in the Newington district of Edinburgh, adjacent to the popular Cameron Toll Shopping Centre. The Cameron bed and breakfast is only a short bus journey into the heart of Edinburgh's city centre. All our rooms at the Cameron bed and breakfast are freshly decorated and we guarantee you a hearty Scottish breakfast in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. At the Cameron Bed and Breakfast we also welcome guests with special dietary requirements. At the Cameron bed and breakfast we welcome families with young children, and offer travel cot facilities on request with no charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cameron Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.