We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation with Parking in Edinburgh?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront to your Saves list
Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Western Harbour | Breakwater, Edinburgh EH6 6PZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Accommodation with Parking in Edinburgh?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found this accommodation through LateRooms - however you can also book it direct on line.
The accommodation was very modern and clean and location very close to the Ocean View shopping centre in Leith. It is only just over 2 miles to Princess Street with a 15 minute bus service during the day. The kitchen is well appointed with cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher with sufficient crockery and utensils for reasonable self-catering. Asda are just 5-minutes away by car and locally there are some very good eateries.
There is no problem parking as we were given access to the underground car park within the accommodation block at no extra cost - almost unique in Edinburgh.
We paid extra for a superior room with sea view - more space and slightly better appointed.
Definitely stay there in future for viewing the city, going to a show or shopping trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    68
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
58
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Lincolnshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with our 5 year old in a two bed apartment. Apartment was spacious and clean and well stocked with with everything you would require. Great view across the water. Bus stop outside and a 20 minute journey to the centre of town. Ocean Terminal with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Free WI-FI as well.

One tip - Remember to take photographic ID. They require it for you to check in. I did not know this, but luckily had photo driving licence on me. Not sure what would have hapopended if I had not!

Al in all, excellent value. I would definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The apartment was spacious with modern furniture, clean and overlooked the water. Fantastic location - a little out of town but perfect if you had hired a vehicle with undercover parking available. There were some lovely restaurants nearby - within walking distance and a great supermarket with virtually anything that you could imagine. Bus service (at end of street and every 10 minutes) meant that we did not need to drive into Edinburgh. The Concierge was extremely helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: I think that we had an advantage when staying on level 6 - the water views were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed with this company several times before and I have not previously had any issues with the properties. This time however I did. They were notmajor issues but niggles that were frustrating. Usually I am given an electionic "key" to enter the underground carpark but this time it was not an option for some reason and the parking available near the entrance to the block was very minimal, if I had not had my wits about me I would have ended up clamped and with a £100 fine - dark blue notices on a dark fence in the dark.
When I got into the apartment there were no instructions about how to operate the tV/digi box combo, no matter what I tried I could not get it to work so had to make a call to find out. Then I could not get the oven to work and a member of staff had to come out and they could not do so either, we had to search through a lot of paperwork to find the instruction book to realise that the oven would not work unless the clock was set - should have been set before a guest arrived. I settled down to a relaxing night in front of the TV - not to be, a constant humming from the TV drowned out the sound no matter what I did.
I was somewhat disappointed this trip - if it had been my first I would not go back. As other visits have been somewhat more successful I will use them again but not in this particular apartment.
All apartments have been spotlessly clean and I like the fact that you get dishwasher tablets and ice int he freezer!
P.S. have asked for the invoice to be e-mailledto be as nobody available at 08:00 when I left although reception should be open then but it has not arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is an anomaly. On arrival it looks soulless - it looks industrial, cold and possibly unsafe. Don't be put off - it is quiet, handy to shops and transport, clean, spacious, secure and has great views. We stayed in Block 7, up high and it was great. The apartment is huge, with a full size kitchen, bathroom and en-suite and laundry. Perhaps the best things for a first time visitor to Edinburgh are 1. includes parking, 2. is quite and secure 3. The bus route starts and stops at the front of the units, and leaves every 10 - 15 minutes so there is no chance of getting lost - the trip into Edinburgh Central is only 10 minutes, 4. is spacious and has a view.

The staff were friendly and efficient. One word of advice though - just book direct with the company - we used booking.com and they took our money and failed to pay the apartments - most inconvenient.

Although the beds are a bit ordinary, this is a fabulous place to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Go high - get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed with Hot=el apartments for 12 months whilst working in Edinburgh. My apartment was beautifully appointed and wanted for nothing. For those working away from home everything is thought of, Washing machine/dryer, iron and ironing board, broadband, dishwasher, freezer and all the electricity and water included in the price.
What impressed was how quiet it was even when busy, never had a disturbed night !!!.
There is a secure underground car park but the bus into the city centre is less than 2 minutes walk and leaves every 10 minutes.
The views were incredible with the river forth to the front and the Castle to the back. Watching the ships coming in and out was a wonderful sight.
The apartment was serviced to a very high standard each week, the ladies were very professional, as were the Concierge staff and the sales team. Mr Gallen the Managing Director has got it spot on !!!
Really sad that my business in Edinburgh has concluded, I will certainly be back !!!!!!WainwLLYOnlky

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I phoned to book an apartment as normal and the whole process took less than 5 mins.
I was welcomed as normal on arrival and given an info pack and keys.
The flat was clean, warm and overlooked the River Forth on the 5th floor. Price includes heating, electricity, pots, pans, coffee etc. Parking is available in the underground garage or outside the flat. The bus service is regular and it goes to the city center.

Room Tip: Block 8 is quietest and best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront

Address: 9 Western Harbour | Breakwater, Edinburgh EH6 6PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot-El-Apartments Edinburgh Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Hot-El-Apartments Edinburgh Waterfront Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot-el-apartments Edinburgh Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.