We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashgrovehouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashgrovehouse Hotel to your Saves list
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
12 Osborne Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5HG, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Strathpeffer
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Arrived from Edinburgh airport after travelling from Morocco, phoned from the Wester Coates bus stop asked fro directions but I could not understand the lady on the phone she passed me to a male and I was also unable to understand him, I asked people walking on the street they pointed the hotel to me, I paid for my room immediately on arrival. Next morning after breakfast, I was handing in my key and the owner stated I had to pay for the room. I explained to him that I had paid the full amount immediately on my arrival and to check it with the woman who had let me into the property, I was annoyed at being asked again to pay for my stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
21
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Expensive if compared to other B&B in Edimburgh with the same price but much more clean and modern.
The bathroom was old and appeared not so clean... It was 20-25 minutes from the centre (walking). it has a free parking

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Service here was friendly and correct. Room was quite big at least the room was very high, but still cosy and nice. Also the breakfast was good with the traditional Scottish breakfast. The location was pretty good because the old town was quite near and in walking distance. There were also many parking slots in the front yard, also it was easy to come by car.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We arrived at the hotel and James was very helpfull telling us where we could eat and where to go on our trip to Edinburgh. The room was very nice and very clean, the breakfast was excellent. The Hotel was perfectly situated for us from Murryfield and local train station Haymarket. It just cost 2.20 return to Edinburgh which was great. The hotel was very quiet even though on a main road. It's on the main bus route to Edinburgh also.
I would recommend this hotel if you want a clean, central, value for money hotel and do not wish to stop in Edinburgh.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel, a quiet and relaxing break, and a plus for the position for Murryfield, we will be booking to go back at a later date for another weekend to see more of the sights of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Ashgrove House falls under the category 'you get what you paid for.' The B & B is a bit shabby, but clean with a good breakfast. The staff was nice. The bathroom was small and the towels were not the greatest. It is located on the bus line-- too far from attractions to walk. Edinburgh is VERY expensive (especially during the festival) and the hotel was in our budget- but it did not match the other places we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I stayed here for 3 days in March. I found this b and b on the internet and was very pleased with this home. Lots to recommend it...central, ( via bus ride to downtown), very very clean, which I appreciated. In spite of being on a busy street, the home was very quiet...lovely breakfast room and parlour and a spectacular "castle" across the street. Run by a very quiet, out of sight family. Only concern, the parlour is off limits after 9 which I thought was a bit much in that it was a great place to read quietly. Extra bonus, use of a computer for the internet..within reason. Would recommend it and have to family...Thanks Deborah from Canada

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — could not access the parlour after 9
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Shame to have to write a few negatives about a hotel that is good value and clean but then this is what Trip Advisor is all about.

Location is great, just 15 minutes from the centre of Edinburgh. Parking is free. Hotel is clean and the staff friendly and efficient.

The noise from the main A8 road can be troublesome, even at night..
Whilst there is plenty of cereals and toast at breakfast the 'Scottish' breakfast was disappointing. One sausage, one rasher bacon, one egg, small hash brown.. No haggis, no white pudding and no potato cakes.

Still...good value with the plus points above.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashgrovehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrovehouse Hotel

Address: 12 Osborne Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1868, Ashgrove House has recently been refurbished to offer all modern comforts within a traditional Victorian villa with free car parking. Ideally set on the A8, which serves Edinburgh city centre from the west, within a 10-minute walk of the world-famous Princes Street & ECCI. Also,we are on the bus route to Edinburgh Airport & Excellent public transport system /Near Haymarket Station (a non-smoking establishment). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashgrovehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashgrovehouse Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashgrovehouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.