We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb pre-theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henrick's Bar

Henrick's Bar
1 Barclay Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HW, Scotland (Bruntsfield)
01312292442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,900 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bruntsfield
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb pre-theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

Its become our annual tradition to visit Henricks before we head to the Kings for the panto. The pre-theatre is great value £10.95 for 2 courses. We all had fish and chips and the portions were huge and the fish was absolutely delicious. The service is really friendly and attentive too. Well worth a visit - cant recommend this place enough.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW via mobile

We went for the pre theatre menu after the matinee performance at the panto. The staff were friendly and on the ball. We all had different things from the menu and all of the dishes were delicious. My 7 year old also had the chocolate brownie, which he loved! Once we had paid out bill, the staff also hailed us a taxi. Outstanding service and food with a lovely atmosphere, would definitely go back go and recommend it to others

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A new favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

My husband and I were here with my parents for a meal last night. It was fantastic, everything was perfect - food, drink, service and atmosphere. It has an outdoor area at the back which is mostly covered and has heaters (handy if you are a smoker so no need to stand on the street) We all look forward to returning soon!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very nice pre-theatre meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Hadn't been at this end of town for some years but were going to a show at The Kings. I seemed to remember that there was a bar/bistro here called Chaplins but we were delighted to find Henricks. We hadn't booked but a very nice table was found. Place quickly filled up and the atmosphere was good. Comfortable, nice cosy décor, friendly staff, good pre-theatre menu. Not huge portions but not over-priced either. Although we didn't realise it at the time, the cast of the show we were going to see were seated beside us. Overall a very nice experience and we would certainly return. Oh, and the food was lovely!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 Nights 2 great nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We went on 2 different nights early doors very busy with the theatre crowd, just have a beer and chat. the staff were very good. My wife had a steak on both visits which she sid was excellent both tender and tasty with the peppercorn sauce. I had haddock and chips first visit best Ihave eaten in years. Second visit belly pork with sweet pot and chilli mash fantastic. Try this lovely place out you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henrick's Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Henrick's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henrick's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.