We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Ramseys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramsay's B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ramsay's B&B to your Saves list
Ramsay's B&B
25 East London Street, Edinburgh EH7 4BN, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loving Ramseys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent location during Fringe Festival. Sharon, the owner, greeted us warmly
and could not have been more helpful. The B & B was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and Sharon's breakfasts have to be experienced to be believed. Excellent accommodation, already booked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
225
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in August for the second time and would go back again.
The owners are lovely and will help you with anything you require.
Breakfast is well organised and tastes great. The surrounding area is nice to walk around and not far to walk to Princess Street.
You can park your car easily and Sharon and Norma will keep you informed about the best way to do this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Location was a short walk to downtown attractions. There was a small issue when we booked but it was looked after before our arrival. We didn't see a sitting room but was fine without it. Well looked after and clean. Would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed for five nights at Ramsay's B&B in downtown Edinburgh.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Sharon, the owner, who couldn't have been nicer! She welcomed us with open arms as she gave us a tour of her home. It didn't take us long to realize we had made the right decision when booking Ramsey's.
The décor is contemporary, with unique pieces everywhere, adding to the ambiance. Sharon decorated the each room and you can tell she has a knack for interior design.
The first floor is occupied by the family, but also has the beautiful breakfast room overlooking the busy street outside. We were then ushered downstairs where the guest rooms are located. As we opened our door to the room, we were pleasantly surprised to see a huge window overlooking a beautiful backyard and gardens! It was like we were transformed to the country! The room was decorated with black and white with a king sized bed and luxurious bedding.
After a busy day touring the city,(the location is perfect for walking to all attractions) we welcomed the solitude of our retreat to kick back and relax, reviewing our pictures taken that day.
Breakfast each morning was wonderful! We could order off a menu the night before, and there was plenty to chose from. I enjoyed the delicious fresh fruit salad each day and my husband went for the complete breakfast with fresh eggs, bacon, tomato, etc. It really got us started for our long days walking around the city!
Finally, our stay at Ramsey's would not have been as special if it weren't for the friendly hosts, Sharon and Norrie. They were two of the nicest people we met on our two week vacation in the UK. We used their advice when we left each morning, which made our decision making much easier. We would definitely stay at Ramsay's again if we ever return to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Perfect spot to catch all the sites but far enough away to avoid the noise. We were fortunate enough to be there at Festval and Tattoo time so bus stop lose by if needed. We had a car and parking was simple. Lovely breakfast.
Kathy and co from Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Can't say enough good things about Ramsay's. Beautiful property and wonderful hosts. Sharon and Norman couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. The decor is tasteful and my room was lovely. The neighborhood is full of great places to eat, and a short walk to the main area of town. I hope to return for another visit to Scotland, and will definitely stay at Ramsay's!

Room Tip: My room was in the back overlooking the garden. Nice to look out at some greenery, but the street v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very modern, clean, comfortable room, including everything you could need; excellent breakfast with lots of choice; and most prominently, the owners are incredibly warm, friendly, and helpful! Could not fault this B&B in any way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramsay's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay's B&B

Address: 25 East London Street, Edinburgh EH7 4BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsay's high quality bed and breakfast is ideally situated to take advantage of Edinburgh's many local attractions. It is located on the eastern edge of Edinburgh's New Town, close to Princess street and Edinburgh castle, and in walking distance to both the train and bus stations. Our spacious townhouse offers bright contemporary en-suite bedrooms, each with hospitality tray, LCD TV, hairdryer and free wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ramsay's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsay`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ramsay`s Bed And Breakfast
Ramsay's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramsay's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.