We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing

a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing
1a and 1c Dock Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6LU, Scotland
+44 131 554 7427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 1,826 restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $7 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cracking wee bar and separate bistro on Leith's waterfront. Fires on in winter in the bar with mugs of haggis stovies and hot toddies. In summer sit outside on the water! 18 Ales and craft beers on tap. 20 Wines and bubblies by the glass Over 90 malt whiskies. In the bistro we have the Scottish game plate, steak, mussels in Dunsyre cream or Scottish seafood platters. You can also byow wine for £5.00 Corkage (a room in leith only). You'll be glad you made your way here and won't want to leave! Cheers
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had lunch there on Sunday and I can't fault the service or the food. There was a good range of dishes on the menu and the food was freshly cooked and well presented. There was also a good choice of wines.

The restaurant looks over the Water of Leith - lovely setting.

We enjoyed our meal so much that we have booked this restaurant for a special occasion and to date, the manager has been extremely helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    140
    89
    8
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch in Leith”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ventured to Leith's Shore for Sunday lunch and happily found A Room in Leith. Good menu, fresh produce, lovely flavours, good value. Starters and mains were all of high standard but dessert was a bit disappointing. Overall though excellent place for lunch with a relaxed but stylish atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor Sunday brunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our "Breakfast Bacon Roll" was very disappointing. When it finally arrived, after our teas and coffees were finished, we were shocked to be given a cold doughy finger roll usually used for hot dogs in the cinema. "This is not a breakfast roll!" we said. The waitress was unconcerned, we asked her to speak to the chef. Whether she did or not, nobody got back to us. When we were leaving we were told "nobody else has complained" I remarked that the lack of customers probably spoke volumes. Neighbouring restaurants were full serving breakfast to happy customers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had 2 visits to Teuchters while staying in the Malmaison recently, once for a couple of afternoon pints then again for breakfast. Not only can I not fault this absolutely fantastic place, but I think it might be one of the best pubs I've ever been to! From the selection of booze, the quality of the food and the beautiful traditional decor, if I could have designed my own perfect local this would be it! I cannot wait to return and I will happily commute from Glasgow to do so, they have gained a life long regular!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never fails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My fail safe when family visit as there is always something for everyone. Always a good meal, braised ox cheek on sun was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing also viewed

 

Been to a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage a room in Leith and Teuchters Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.