We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ikea Efficient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #60 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ikea Efficient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Location, Location, Location. Very close to the Royal Mile. Can walk to everything. Great WiFi that actually worked great in the room. Super friendly staff. Reasonable price and very clean. Comfy beds,extremely cool air conditioning, decent breakfast, parking 2 blocks away, and room even though a little small was extremely efficient and workable with places to put bath items etc.

The Worlds End Pub is around the corner and has great Fish & Chips, and Steak & Ale Pies. Awesome pub with good brews. Also the Blonde Restaurant is walking distance away and fabulous for dinner.

Great value! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    419
    103
    28
    13
See reviews for
266
336
52
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is close to everything! It's a short walk from Waverley train station so you don't need to hire a taxi. It's also a close walk to the Royal Mile and Princes Street for all of the shopping and sightseeing Old Town Edinburgh has to offer. The staff is nice and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and come with a continental breakfast and free wifi. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We aim to offer a great level of customer service and I am pleased you experienced this during your stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

A comfortable 2 nights spent here whilst in Edinburgh for a concert. Great location. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean and superbly fitted out.
I would certainly return if we come back up to Edinburgh.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is really nice to hear you had such a comfortable stay with us.

We always strive to provide excellent service to our guest and are happy to hear you experienced this.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent hotel in a great location in the old town - a short walk in either direction takes you to the castle at one end of the Royal Mile and Holyrood Palace at the other, with lots of lovely old buildings, pubs and restaurants along the way.
The room and public rooms were spotless and a great breakfast is provided for the price of a room.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar in lay out, the standard of cleanliness is excellent and a free buffet br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Lizzy,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about our hotel.

Edinburgh is an enchanting city and having all the major attractions, restaurants etc. within walking distance from the hotel is great for all guests of the hotel.

We are glad to hear you liked the rooms, enjoyed and appreciated our service from breakfast through to the cleanliness of the rooms and also the helpful staff. It will be great to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are on a budget and want a decent hotel that's close to the Royal Mile, this hotel is probably hard to beat in Edinburgh.

Pros:
- Great location, ~2 blocks from Royal Mile
- Full breakfast included
- Air conditioning!
- Front desk staff helpful & very friendly

Cons:
- Toiletries are not good (combo body wash/shampoo & soap only)
- Cheap, uncomfortable pillows
- Noisy room (our room had an adjoining door to another room, and we could hear everything going on in that room next door - even people coughing in the middle of the night)

Room Tip: Rooms with doors to adjoining rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location in the old town and that our breakfast inclusive rates set you up for the day. It is always great to hear that the staff were helpful and friendly and that air conditioning was a welcomed facility.
I am sorry to hear you did not like the toiletries. We have chosen to use a local Scottish Sea Kelp product which has been complimented many times and has also been requested by guests of where this product can be purchased. I appreciate the feedback on the pillows and will be reviewing their condition with the housekeeping team as these have recently been replaced in the hotel. Getting the right pillow away from home can be a difficult. We do have some adjoining rooms as they are ideal for families but would like to apologise for the noise disturbance that you experienced. I hope this would not deter you from staying with us again and would be happy to hear from you in advance to have the opportunity to rectify the cons that you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Was very impressed with the location - within a couple of minutes you're on the Royal Mile which is Edinburgh's tourist central.

Our room (203) was a reasonable size, or maybe it just seemed that way because the sofa bed referred to in other reviews was absent. The bed is unnecessarily small and was not particularly comfortable. There is plenty of space for a larger one. 203 is near the lift but on the opposite side of the corridor so we didn't have any problem with lift noise.

Breakfast was good, but don't put rolls or croissants in the toasters (I managed to miss the warning signs!). They're like a blast furnace and burn rolls or croissants to a cinder. Stick to toasting the bread, which will get nicely browned in one pass through the machine.

The staff are very good and are what makes this hotel really stand out. We met Daniel and Amanda who both deserve the rave reviews they receive from other reviewers. All the staff are above average and have an underlying air of competence.

Room Tip: 203 is near the lift but on the opposite side of the corridor so we didn't have any problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our ideal location in the old town where you can walk to most of the attractions. I was surprised to hear that you found the beds to be uncomfortable as the whole hotel was refitted with brand new mattresses in the last 6 months, however I appreciate that mattress preference is a very personal one. It is always great to get compliments about our staff and for them to be mentioned by name are they do work hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay and strive to deliver great customer service.
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you come to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meldrum House Hotel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for four nights this past week, and for what we needed, was fine. Clean, tidy and central. Staff were great, young chap on reception (black shirt, used to work at macdonald hotels), red haired girl on duty when we checked inn, didnt catch name, sorry.

Although, no white wine for a couple of days, and even when we were the only ones sitting having a few drinks, struggled with appropriate glassware, small point i know, but every little helps.

Nothing to put us off coming back at all.

Room Tip: We used sofa bed, so ate up some space, but wee man was chuffed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your personal comments about the central location, cleanliness of the hotel and helpfulness of the front desk team. From your descriptions it is easy to work out who you are referring to. My apologies for the shortage of white wine at the bar and any mix up with glassware while at the bar. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.