We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was hoping to say at the Radisson on the royal mile but all their cheaper rooms had sold out so I chose this hotel as a 2nd choice because of a negative experience at this chain in the past. I was very surprised at the professionalism of the staff (for a UK hotel) and their advice on what to do / where to go / eat was great.

The room was big enough for 2 and was clean and tidy. Beds were not the comfiest I've used but acceptable. Breakfast is described as 'continental' but also included sausage, egg and beans and was quite good. For the money I could not receommend a better place in this area of Edinburgh - it was so convenient to go everywhere! Castle just 10/15 mins walk, Scottish Museum about 5/7 mins walk and a Tesco nearby too if you need to get any shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    389
    94
    27
    13
See reviews for
246
316
47
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel has a really good location for people who want to be near the main 'touristy' sites in Edinburgh. It is about two blocks away from the Royal Mile (however, the two blocks you have to walk to get to the Royal Mile are up a fairly steep hill...just something to keep in mind if you will be traveling with older people or people who are physically impaired).

It's a 4 minute walk to the Royal Mile, maybe a 10-15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, 10 minute walk to the National Museum of Scotland, and very close to the cathedral (forget the name) at which the underground tours of Edinburgh meet to take people into the underground vaults.

The service was pleasant, people greeted us when we came in and left the hotel. I had requested a room with a view of arthur's seat, and that's what we got. We had a 3 person room...the room was small and not super modern, but was clean and did the job. The bathroom was alright as well.

Pleasantly, breakfast was included in the price. It was general cheap breakfast fair, with hot scrambled eggs, sausages and beans and options for yogurt, cereal, croissants (not very nice ones) and I believe some fruit. I recommend getting to breakfast early, as it can get pretty crowded, and a lot of visitors seem to come from nations where waiting in a queue seems to be a foreign concept so often people will just dive in in front of you.

In short, if you are looking for a budget hotel near the sites of Edinburgh, this is probably the best you'll do.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Arthur's Seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Do not expect anything extraordinary at this hotel. It is clean, close to the Royal Mile and fullfills all the standards.
Breakfast is self service, but so is the Radisson next door. There they take the plates away, here it is trays like in fast food restaurants and up to take it away. There is someone here to help you and to tidy the tables.
Unfortunately there is no full English breakfast, the bacon is missing.
The beds are quite small. So is the room. No cupboard.
If you plan to stay more than one or two nights you live out of your suitcase.
The bathroom is ok, but nowhere to hang your towel beside the shower. Carefull not to squeeze your fingers in the swinging door which can lock the complete bathroom or just the toilet.
For what it is it is ok, but only for One, two nights.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear LairdMcKai,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the issues you had with most of our amenities and the dissatisfaction you encountered with our service level. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is in a quiet-ish side street off the Royal Mile. We stayed 5 nights over New Year and were a bit disappointed. Having not stayed at a HI Express before we were expecting a different standard. The room was clean and relatively well-equipped but quite small and with no real cupboard space at all. That might be ok for one person for a night or two but for us it seemed like we were constantly opening and closing our suitcases and standing in each other's way in the process. The bed was soft and quite small, when one person rolled over, the whole bed shook.
Again, breakfast was a wee bit disappointing. Instead of a full English or indeed Scottish breakfast there were sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans - in itself ok but as I say, not quite what we thought we were getting. A much more dire problem, from our point of view, was the lack of drinkable tea or coffee. The tea was a do it yourself affair with what seemed to be not quite boiling (and very scaley) water from the coffee machine and if you were unlucky you got a drip or two of the previous coffee in the cup
The atmosphere in the rather cramped breakfast room was a cross between a station cafe and primark in the sales, although we were there quite early every morning.
The hotel seemed to pride itself on its environmental consciousness, but at breakfast there were lots of individual packaging.
As far as service was concerned the staff were all friendly and willing if not always able to help.
On the whole, a budget hotel in a good location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Bizzy6,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is good to know that our location was convenient for your needs and you found our staff to be friendly. However, please accept my apologies if the breakfast served did not meet your standards. We take all feedback seriously and use your comments to enhance what we can offer.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildervank, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a walk through the rain from Waverley Bridge we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist, who helped us on the way by giving us tips and a map of Edinburgh. We then entered a neat room with lovely bathroom. Service was very good, we could really appreciate the note we got after leaving the "Please come back later, busy with much needed-sleep"-label outside the door for the housekeeping!
Good breakfast was included, so we could explore the city with a full stomach. Great location in the Old Town, so all the attractions which we were most interested in, were within walking-distance.

Likes: friendliness of staff, location, service, neat room
Dislike: mattresses were quite hard, not enough possibilities to dry wet clothes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballater
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just back from a overnight stay at the hotel. Within minutes Billy at reception had established that we were there to see the Lion King and organised us a taxi. The parking is a short walk but secure and discounted by the hotel when you present the token. The room is clean, simple but clever. Breakfast had a good selection but was told that bacon was not available on Sundays?? It is a great location and we will definitely use this place again as it ticks all the boxes for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for 4 days and our stay was just perfect! The hotel has the best location, near all the historical sites and shopping area in Princess st... but what really Made this hotel the best for us was the front desk staff named Daniel, he is so bubbly and kind, always ready to help even without you
asking for it, and you feel the genuineness of his actions, You would not feel taken advantaged of eventhough you're a tourist, and best of all he doesn't get tired of our questions.. He is the gem of holiday inn cowgate...oh by the way , we are a Filipino family treated and served like royalty and a friend by a European receptionist named Daniel. This I say is not that easy to find here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.