We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Wi-Fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
uk
1 review
“No Wi-Fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice hotel, helpful staff, clean rooms etc but the Wi-Fi is a joke. The signal so bad that really they should not claim they have wi-fi, a bit of a false pretence. The trouble is, especially when you are travelling, it is really irritating if you choose somewhere because it has wi-fi and then find it not true.

Room Tip: bring a computer cable to try and connect to internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Rawvision

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that we have been able to discuss and resolve your concerns with personal communication. As I explained, we do offer free internet to all our guests, however on this occasion the issue was that during your stay over the Easter holidays we had a excessive high number of users online. We tried very hard to find alternative solutions to resolve this but I do understand your frustration. We are very close to having the internet service upgraded to rectify this and provide a great customer experience regardless of the demand at peak times. Once again my apologies for the inconvenience and disruption during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    386
    94
    27
    12
See reviews for
243
313
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, literally 1 minute off the Royal Mile, and a ten minute walk from Edinburgh Waverley. The room was a good size, with comfortable beds, a good shower and everything you need. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even searching for a spare phone charger as I had forgotten mine. Breakfast was good and we were advised that due to the time of year it would be busy between 9 and 10, we went down earlier to avoid this, which was a good move as later on they were queuing for tables.

The day we left we were able to leave out suitcases in the hotel for free, something which is doesn't say on the website, so there is probably the possibility of leaving them on the day of arrival before the room is ready.

All in all a great hotel and I would stay again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our front desk team are available 24 hours a day and they always ready to help. I’m pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast and we do our best to advise guests of peak times so if you want a quiet relaxed breakfast it is easy for you to avoid the rush. We are happy to hold luggage free of charge both prior to check in and after departure. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Located a street from the royal mile this hotel has an absolut top position in town. With just a ten minute walk in any direction you can reach the castle, shopping, st giles cathedral, holyrood park with Arthurs seat, camera obscura and a lot more. Staff is helpful and the room was comfy. Breakfast is boring, almost only empty carbs, but it keeps you going for a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for you overall pleasant comments. We are sorry to hear you think that our free breakfast was boring – with choices including bread, toast, croissants, apples, bananas, various jams and spreads, at least 5 different cereals, bananas, apples, grapefruit, mandarin, beans, sausages, scrambled eggs, yoghurts and more it is a great way to start the day. I hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is just off the Royal Mile which makes it a Great location to stay. Since it is just off the busy Royal Mile, it is nice and quiet to stay for the night.

Stayed there 4 nights with clean and warm rooms . The overall Breakfast is ok, slightly better than some Holiday Inn express in Europe. You will get the usual sausages, scramble eggs, bake beans. Good selection of cerals etc. Good enough to start your day.

10 mins walk from the Weaverly Station, with luggague.

Only minus is the 'free internet'. There is a cap on the number of users that can get connected and once that limit is reach, there is nothing the staff can do about.

So only managed to have 1 day of internet throuhjtouty the stay. Apart from that, this is a good hotel for holiday makers.

As a Platinum Priority Card member, i have free coffee throughout the stay

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the St Patrick Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our free breakfast we offer all guests. Our free wifi service is very popular with guests and I am sorry you had some connection issues – we are currently installing anew system which resolves these issues and although this does not make up for your issues wit will ensure that the service provided will be better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location and very clean and comfortable room .We were on the forth floor and on our last night there was a power cut and the lift was not working and we needed help with our luggage's to carry them down the stairs the receptionist came and carried all our suitcases down . breakfast was very good ,different cereals scrambled eggs sausages croissants and they even gave us breakfast on our last day even though we left at five am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location , clean and warm rooms . The wi if wasn't working which was a pain because I needed to get work emails . The staff tried to help to no avail but at least they tried

The breakfast was awful don't try the cheap awful sausages or the over cooked eggs go toast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nites here. Room is clean and efficient. Liked the toilet door that closed both ways. Simple but complete breakfast. Location is quite central and makes traveling along north bridge and royal mile a 5 mins walk. Took a cab from waverly train station about £4, but gladly paid for it to save the uphill walk with luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.